Lily pipe on a 125g?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
Silock
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 62
Default Lily pipe on a 125g?

Good idea or bad? Seems like it wouldn't have enough flow, but I don't have any experience with them.
Silock is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 02:57 PM   #2
foster
Planted Member
 
foster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gladwin Michigan
Posts: 214
Default

You would have to use a powerhead or submersible pump to disperse it through the tank.
foster is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 03:13 PM   #3
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (54/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,436
Default

Of course you can do it. There are many companies including ADA that make lily pipes for that size tank.
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 03:20 PM   #4
agentkhiem
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 154
Default

Don't forget to factor in the GPH of your filter, and if applicable, the layout of your tank.
agentkhiem is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 05:59 PM   #5
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,640
Default

Certainly doable. Whether you have enough flow will be dependent on your pump, not the lily pipe. It might be better to have an output and input on each end of the tank though. Here's a 6 footer from AFA and you can find a lot more examples especially in the ADA gallery in Niigata.

http://www.adana-usa.com/images/gallery/180P-main.jpg
Jeff5614 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2013, 08:43 AM   #6
Silock
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff5614 View Post
Certainly doable. Whether you have enough flow will be dependent on your pump, not the lily pipe. It might be better to have an output and input on each end of the tank though. Here's a 6 footer from AFA and you can find a lot more examples especially in the ADA gallery in Niigata.

http://www.adana-usa.com/images/gallery/180P-main.jpg
That's pretty fantastic. It looks like there is Inout and output at both ends. Are they using two filters for that, or did they fabricate some kind of T to split the outflow? Seems like it would be bad for output flow, but I guess if it's just based on pressure, it would work. Wouldn't want to wear out the filter prematurely by making the motor work too hard.

Edit: I was planning on using my Cerges reactor to dissolve the co2, so one filter would be preferable. If I need to add a power head, I'm not opposed. I'm having good flow on my 30b with just a spray bar, so I kinda wanted to upsize that. However, my 30 has surface scum problems, so I added a surface skimmer, which I hate. Don't want it on my 125. It's a pain in the butt. So lily pipe with a vortex was my solution.
Silock is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2013, 01:30 PM   #7
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silock View Post
That's pretty fantastic. It looks like there is Inout and output at both ends. Are they using two filters for that, or did they fabricate some kind of T to split the outflow? Seems like it would be bad for output flow, but I guess if it's just based on pressure, it would work. Wouldn't want to wear out the filter prematurely by making the motor work too hard.

Edit: I was planning on using my Cerges reactor to dissolve the co2, so one filter would be preferable. If I need to add a power head, I'm not opposed. I'm having good flow on my 30b with just a spray bar, so I kinda wanted to upsize that. However, my 30 has surface scum problems, so I added a surface skimmer, which I hate. Don't want it on my 125. It's a pain in the butt. So lily pipe with a vortex was my solution.
I'm sure they're using two filters. If you want to use one filter you might think about a sump or wet dry. If you want to stay with a canister then look at the larger ones like an Eheim 1500XL.
Jeff5614 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2013, 01:36 PM   #8
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (54/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff5614 View Post
I'm sure they're using two filters.
It appears so on the one that you linked from AFA (nothing wrong with that), but look at the 180 size tanks in the gallery.

http://www.pbase.com/plantella/natur...m_gallery_2005

These have one filter. The only one that appears to have two filters and two diffusers is the 10-ft entrance tank. There is a limit, but how many of us have 10-ft tanks. But if you look at my link and the other tanks at ADA the 6-ft and under tanks have one filter and no powerheads
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2013, 01:40 PM   #9
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by houseofcards View Post
It appears so on the one that you linked from AFA (nothing wrong with that), but look at the 180 size tanks in the gallery.

http://www.pbase.com/plantella/natur...m_gallery_2005

These have one filter. The only one that appears to have two filters and two diffusers is the 10-ft entrance tank. There is a limit, but how many of us have 10-ft tanks. But if you look at my link and the other tanks at ADA the 6-ft and under tanks have one filter and no powerheads
Yep, most of the larger tanks in the AGA gallery appear to have one filter. The image I posted of the 180p from AFA was just the first image of a larger tank that google gave me.
Jeff5614 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2013, 01:48 PM   #10
Silock
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff5614 View Post
I'm sure they're using two filters. If you want to use one filter you might think about a sump or wet dry. If you want to stay with a canister then look at the larger ones like an Eheim 1500XL.
I'm trying to stay away from a sump. I have a Cascade 1500 for it (350 gph). If possible, I'd rather just add a powerhead than another filter.
Silock is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 06:34 PM   #11
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (54/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,436
Default

Not only can you use a lily pipe you can even diffuse co2 and ferts quite effectively using a ceramic diffuser and average 2-3 turnover, even on a 6 foot tank. As far as co2 diffusion the hint of why this works can be found in the name of the diffusers sold by ADA.
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 07:12 PM   #12
shrimpNewbie
Wannabe Guru
 
shrimpNewbie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: california, orange county
Posts: 1,891
Default Lily pipe on a 125g?

Power heads should be used on that sized tank anyway, IMO but it will work
shrimpNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 07:24 PM   #13
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (54/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpNewbie View Post
Power heads should be used on that sized tank anyway, IMO but it will work
You could, but would be unnecessary and would add an ugly piece or equipment to the setup. Look at the 6-ft setups. No powerheads and no deficiencies anywhere. There's also only one filter on those tanks.

http://www.pbase.com/plantella/image/49428674
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 07:31 PM   #14
shrimpNewbie
Wannabe Guru
 
shrimpNewbie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: california, orange county
Posts: 1,891
Default Lily pipe on a 125g?

Are you sure they don't take power heads out for photo shoots? I know some people here might
shrimpNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2013, 07:45 PM   #15
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (54/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpNewbie View Post
Are you sure they don't take power heads out for photo shoots? I know some people here might
Those aren't photo shoot pics, those are someone's pics of the actual gallery. ADA photos in their books, etc they usually remove all the equipment even the lily pipes.
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012