Akadama?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
ducks
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2
Default Akadama?

Hi, been browsing the forums for a bit and had a question. What type of Akadama do you use in a shrimp tank? Double Red Line is the best, I've read, but that's not readily available. Would this kind work?

http://www.easternleaf.com/Akadama_p/113370-01.htm

Or would this package be better?

Last edited by somewhatshocked; 02-19-2013 at 12:27 AM.. Reason: Don't link to eBay
ducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:43 PM   #2
Lexinverts
Maestro of Invertology
 
Lexinverts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 614
Default

Akadama, even Double Red Line, is a difficult soil to use. I recommend using ADA New Amazonia instead of Akadama.
__________________
"Science is like a blabbermouth who ruins a movie by telling you how it ends. Well I say that there are some things we don't want to know. Important things!" Ned Flanders

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=338362
Lexinverts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:44 PM   #3
ducks
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2
Default

Is it difficult because it doesn't buffer for long, or for another reason(s)? The other soil I have been looking at is Fluval shrimp stratum. It has mixed reviews but I think it will buffer well since I'll be using remineralized RO water.
ducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:54 PM   #4
Lexinverts
Maestro of Invertology
 
Lexinverts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 614
Default

I don't recommend Fluval Shrimp stratum either. I had very low survival with baby CRS using that soil. I know others have had the same problem. The only soil that almost everyone consistently has success with is Amazonia.

The Akadama is difficult because it really pulls minerals out of the water, and does so for some time. You have to really know what you are doing to make sure that your shrimp have enough minerals. ADA New Amazonia is just MUCH easier to get right.
__________________
"Science is like a blabbermouth who ruins a movie by telling you how it ends. Well I say that there are some things we don't want to know. Important things!" Ned Flanders

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=338362
Lexinverts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (98/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,110
Default

Plus most akadama turns to mush, DRL was the one that stayed in form. Plus buffered the water
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:18 PM   #6
Puddles
Suspended
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 732
Default

Amazonia is so pricey, anyone have a better source than $30/9l plus $16 shipped?
Puddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:25 PM   #7
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,269
Default

Nine litres is a lot of material. And it's $30 - in some cases cheaper than Fluval Shrimp Stratum. Being able to do an entire 20 long for $60 is well worth it.

It'd cost nearly as much to use Eco-Complete, depending upon your source, and way more to use something like Azoo, UP Aqua or Mr. Aqua active substrates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PuddlesAqua View Post
Amazonia is so pricey, anyone have a better source than $30/9l plus $16 shipped?
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:25 PM   #8
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

ive had really good luck with fss, its been a year now and just starting to break down and still takes my tap (ph of 7.4) down to about 6-6.5 depending on the tank (one has deeper substrate) and my crs have done quite well for me on it. same ones you sent me what a year and half ago i think lex.
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:22 PM   #9
lipadj46
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
lipadj46's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 939
Default Re: Akadama?

My drl akadama lasted a year. It is now mush and my water is constantly murky. I need to redo my tank. Probably will do amazonia and start over with new shrimp

sent from an undisclosed location using morse code
lipadj46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:59 PM   #10
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,996
Default

Akadama not good, has a high cec which pulls out minerals but when the soil is full of minerals it dumps them out as well which crashed every tank I had eventually.

Stay away from it, it's only trouble even if you are good at monitoring hardness levels.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:33 AM   #11
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mordalphus View Post
Akadama not good, has a high cec which pulls out minerals but when the soil is full of minerals it dumps them out as well which crashed every tank I had eventually.

Stay away from it, it's only trouble even if you are good at monitoring hardness levels.
Is it mess up with GH and TDS or with KH and PH when get old ???
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:14 AM   #12
Lexinverts
Maestro of Invertology
 
Lexinverts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 614
Default

My GH, KH, and pH always looked good with Double Red Line, but the shrimp were missing something crucial because their babies did not survive very well. At the same time, my Amazonia tanks were exploding with babies...
__________________
"Science is like a blabbermouth who ruins a movie by telling you how it ends. Well I say that there are some things we don't want to know. Important things!" Ned Flanders

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=338362
Lexinverts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:18 AM   #13
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,353
Default

My OEBTs are breeding in a akadama tank. I must have lost 90% of 200+ babies. I am not sure if it's akadama or just me being inexperienced about tigers.
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:24 AM   #14
flowerfishs
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
flowerfishs's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/98%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles CA, USA
Posts: 397
Default

I have DRL in my tanks for a few months. I almost lost all of my crs shrimp. I use Amazonia soil before. My shrimp breeds, but no luck with DRL.
flowerfishs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012