Water Hyacinth?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 04:10 PM   #1
taiwwa
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: morgantown, wv
Posts: 187
Default Water Hyacinth?

Anyone use it in their aquariums? It seems like a common pond plant. I have a few open top aquariums that this could work well with.
taiwwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,228
Default

They could work but they get really wide and really tall.....so keep that in mind.

Also there roots get like, 3 feet long or something absurd like that.
HybridHerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:05 PM   #3
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

i tried a couple times i couldnt keep enough light on them for them to grow. they slowly ended up rotting before i got them moved out side last summer
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012