Use swimming pool sand?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 12:10 AM   #1
AlanLe
Algae Farmer
 
AlanLe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 726
Default Use swimming pool sand?

Can I use those sand for swimming pool filter and put it on the bottom of the tank and fill the top layer with Eco complete?
AlanLe is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 12:35 AM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,401
Default

You could if you really wanted to, but they will mix.
IMO it looks pretty bad, a black and white (or almost white) mix like that. To me, it does not look very natural.

If there is any way you can use all EC, that would look better.
I used EC and Soil Master Select, charcoal. That blended well. Unfortunately SMS is not on the market any more, and the similar products are not available in that color.

Pool filter sand is OK in an aquarium. It has no cationic exchange capacity, so is not one of the better plant substrates, but is cheap and easy to use. Minimal rinsing, no chemical effects (no ammonia cycle, reduction of carbonates & pH, or anything else).
The color of the locally available PFS is OK. Sort of off-white with some darker specks here and there. Sort of like a beach.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 12:48 AM   #3
AlanLe
Algae Farmer
 
AlanLe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 726
Default

Initially I want to use all Eco complete but I ordered 1 less bag. I figured sand will give the plants a better foundation for its roots to hold.
AlanLe is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 12:53 AM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,401
Default

Probably not. Plant roots do not seem to use sand as well as they do finer materials. I would use pure EC, and when you add driftwood or rocks push them well into the substrate. That can make the substrate a little deeper, especially if you use rocks as a sort of retaining wall, and push the substrate a little deeper at the back.
Smaller plants, usually chosen for the mid and front are OK in shallower substrate, too.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012