Do you plant with tank empty or full?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default Do you plant with tank empty or full?

About to replant my tank later today, no fish in it, just wondering, how everyone else plants?

Do you plant with tank empty or full??
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:51 PM   #2
mott
Wannabe Guru
 
mott's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_PA View Post
About to replant my tank later today, no fish in it, just wondering, how everyone else plants?

Do you plant with tank empty or full??
Much easier planting empty IMO.
mott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:52 PM   #3
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

Half full. Or half empty.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:53 PM   #4
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCobra View Post
Half full. Or half empty.

Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

its easier kinda empty.
but i do it full. if it doesn't float then i know i've secured it properly
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:01 PM   #6
Knotyoureality
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,054
Default

The only time I plant empty is if I'm doing a dry start method for carpet plants or moss. Otherwise, I plant at half to 3/4 full. Benefits:

-immediately lets me know if plant is secured, floaters are obvious
-lets me see how the final planting is looking if stems/leaves are upright rather than drooped over
-taller specimens aren't constantly in my way as the water bouys them up so I can reach under and around them.
-easier to fill the rest of the way without disturbing the work I've just done.
-no worry about drying out if I decide to take a break or sit and stare at the tank for half an hour trying to figure out a problem.
Knotyoureality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:12 PM   #7
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,988
Default

I use MTS/Sand cap my initial plantings are done with damp (not soaked) substrate. I find this to be the cleanest method for dirtied tanks. I plant crypts/swods deep then the day after filling the tank I gently pull them up to get the crowns a bit above the substrate. By waiting the MST/Sand has had time to fully settle.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:16 PM   #8
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,190
Default

I plant with water in the tank. this allows the plants leaves/stems to no longer stick to themselves and gives me a better idea of how full the plant is.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:38 PM   #9
vincenz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
vincenz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (55/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 719
Default

I always plant with tank almost full, for the same reasons as Knotyoureality. I top up to the max after finishing.
__________________
"Space and light and order. Those are the things that men need just as much as they need bread or a place to sleep."

The Spawning Pool-- 75g shallow square DECOMMISSIONED

Three Worlds-- 4g triple sphere DECOMMISSIONED
vincenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Beer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 316
Default

If you do it with the tank full, make sure you leave enough headspace for sloshing of water and for your arms to go in the tank; more of an issue on smaller tanks. Not fun going in to work on a plant and realizing that your hands and forearms displace enough water to overflow the tank.
Beer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
ramen lover
Planted Member
 
ramen lover's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 241
Default

i plant with it 3/4 full.. that way i know the plants won't float up. then i add more water when i'm done
ramen lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:02 PM   #12
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Like others have said, I plant with 1/2 or 3/4 full
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012