Algae attacking growth tips?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default Algae attacking growth tips?

So I don't have a camera capable of taking a decent picture, but I'll try to describe the algae I'm seeing as best I can.

It's only occurring in my rotalas after I trimmed them and replanted the tops. If this is what the growth tip looks like, \ / , the algae is a dark green spot nestled right where new leaves should be coming from. Looks like this \o/, where the o is a little spot of algae. It's only right at the growth tip, on none of the older leaves.

Anybody have an idea what this could be and how I can treat it?

Thanks,
Dan
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:53 PM   #2
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

Drew up a little picture to better show what I'm talking about. A dark green ball of algae right where new leaves sprout from.

dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:49 PM   #3
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I have had BGA aka cyano do that to Rotala tips. Not sure why it happened or why it stopped happening either. Big help I am.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:59 AM   #4
dstevenson2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 74
Default

Well thank you for giving me an idea of what it could be. It's also good to know that it went away on its own in your situation. I'll probably ride it out and see what happens... I just hope it doesn't kill the stems because I replanted the tops and didn't save any of the bottoms :/
dstevenson2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:37 PM   #5
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (255/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,334
Default

EM will kill it, so will a black out, so will manually, but with a lot of labor, removing and harassing it for a few days, water changes, good general care etc.

When I forgot to dose a few times, I got this, annoying. After a few weeks, got rid of it manually.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012