Soil Under eco-complete?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 01:09 AM   #1
Gabez
Algae Grower
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 116
Default Soil Under eco-complete?

Hey guys ,anyone think using a garden soil flourite and peat mix as a first layer under my eco-complete is a good idea ? Or does anyone have a better idea , heres the plants I plan on keeping

Red tiger lotus
HC, Hemianthus callitrichoides
Myriophyllum mattogrssense
water wisteria
ludwigia repens
contorsionist val
orchid lily
anubias barteri coffeefolia , petite and nana
green gecko cryps
hydrothrix gardneri
Gabez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 03:02 AM   #2
Politikz_Amore
Algae Grower
 
Politikz_Amore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 96
Default

I am using a forest hummus and coco mix with other additives also.
So far the results are good. I added the bottom layer about 6 months
ago, then replaced the established eco-complete as a cap.
Politikz_Amore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 03:08 AM   #3
CatSoup
Planted Member
 
CatSoup's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 249
Default

I just got a bag in the mail today. After reading the whole bag this time I noticed that it says not to use it as a capper because it could be harmful to fish. It said to mix it in a little at a time instead. I bought it to cap what I have already established, so now I am confused about why the heck it says this.
CatSoup is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 04:05 AM   #4
Politikz_Amore
Algae Grower
 
Politikz_Amore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 96
Default

I researched this further, and can find a large number of people on other forums using an eco cap. A few people say not to, but without any facts to support their argument. I have used eco-complete and activ-flora for years without problems. Personally I am considering using a base of MTS capped with eco-complete in my next project.
Politikz_Amore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 04:42 AM   #5
Rivercats
Algae Grower
 
Rivercats's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 65
Default

I have a few tanks with Organic Potting Soil and Eco as a cap. My latest was a 220g using the afore mentioned and has been fine and going strong for a year now. I've done this for a long time and never had any problems. Personally I like the growing results I've always gotten.
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 12:10 PM   #6
Gabez
Algae Grower
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks guys , I plan on getting the soil out of my yard is there any special prep like boiling that I need to do before adding it to the tank
Gabez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 02:58 PM   #7
CatSoup
Planted Member
 
CatSoup's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 249
Default

I'm still scratching my head over the warning label.
CatSoup is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 04:23 PM   #8
Politikz_Amore
Algae Grower
 
Politikz_Amore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 96
Default

My theory is simple. The company says don't use eco-complete to cap because then you wouldn't
purchase a few more bags for that new tank. I am going to Petsmart today to read a bag again
now though.

As I stated earlier, since learning about Mineralized Topsoil I will be adding it to my repertoire.

Rinsing your yard dirt to remove wood and floaties, plus sifting out larger pieces of rock, etc would be
a good idea. I have seen people do everything from shoveling dirt straight into a tank to boiling it on
the stove first. Do a quick forum search and most other questions will be answered.
Politikz_Amore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 05:52 PM   #9
Gabez
Algae Grower
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks a lot will do
Gabez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 06:16 PM   #10
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 354
Default

I would recomend purchasing a bag of organic potting soil instead. It's fairly cheap and requires no prep. The labels are usually pretty detailed, so you can make sure you are getting a good balance of nutrients. I particularly like mixes using bat guano and earthworm castings. I dampen it a bit, add it straight into my tanks, and cap it. Never thought of using something like eco to cap. I have always used inert caps.
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 06:18 PM   #11
dougolasjr
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 837
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
Default

I don't see how using it as a cap could be harmful to fish.
__________________
BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2012, 07:49 PM   #12
Gabez
Algae Grower
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 116
Default

good ideas
Gabez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2012, 12:30 AM   #13
Mostro
Algae Grower
 
Mostro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 49
Default

As I understand it, Eco IS inert, but with a high cation exchange capacity to bind nutrients for plant use. I can't see how using it as a cap would be any different from using it for the entire bed in terms of "fish health."

There are loads of tutorials online which explain the mineralization process with how-to steps. The premise is that organic nutrients are converted to a inorganic form through repeated wetting and drying with exposure to oxygen. This allows bacteria the opportunity to remove or convert excess organic compounds which could contribute to nutrient spikes, excessive algae growth, etc.

However it seems as though there are plenty of people having good success using potting soil and similar dirts with loads of organic content.

I'm planning a tank build using MTS with an Eco cap and would be interested to hear others' experiences with growth, dosing and maintenance. The fish, I'm confident, will be just fine.
__________________

If you had to identify, in one word, the reason why the human race has not achieved, and never will achieve, its full potential, that word would be "meetings." óDave Barry
Mostro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2012, 01:37 AM   #14
CatSoup
Planted Member
 
CatSoup's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 249
Default

I wonder if it is the fear of blocking out the good bacteria in the established soil. I don't see that being possible. Even if it was, in a healthy established tank there should be plenty of other places for bacteria to thrive.
CatSoup is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 12:43 AM   #15
Gabez
Algae Grower
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks guys , I decided not to use soil as my plant choices don't really need it , I have gravel and flourite mix first layer with eco on top , with a sand "river" down the middle , looks great and should grow well with root tabs I hope.
__________________
Why is my tank never big enough
Gabez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
diy, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012