Using old substrate as dry start grow out?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 09:14 AM   #1
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default Using old substrate as dry start grow out?

Hi guys, just wanted to know if I can use an old Aquasoil or Fluval Stratum for my dry start grow out/ farm?

Right now I have about 1 bucket of used fluval stratum, have been more than one year being planted under water. I really dislike the idea of disposing these soil. So maybe I can use it to grow plants in dry start setup? Also I'm aware that this soil probably has little to none nutrients in it, so I would like to know how to "recharge" or put back the nutrients back into the soil.

I need to know what should I do or prepare before I start planting.

Thank you!
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:01 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,505
Default

You can use anything, really. Just have to make sure the plants receive proper nutrition.

I use old substrate in grow out tanks, house plants, succulent mixes, et al.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
150EH
Planted Tank Guru
 
150EH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Churchton, Maryland
Posts: 5,370
Default

You might be able to use a very small amount of Osmocote mixed in with the soil or sprinkled on the bottom of the container being you will have no worries about an algae bloom.
150EH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:56 AM   #4
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
You can use anything, really. Just have to make sure the plants receive proper nutrition.

I use old substrate in grow out tanks, house plants, succulent mixes, et al.
What about misting the plants with water mixed with ferts in it?
Is that okay?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 150EH View Post
You might be able to use a very small amount of Osmocote mixed in with the soil or sprinkled on the bottom of the container being you will have no worries about an algae bloom.
so basically root tabs?


Thanks for the replies guys!
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:12 AM   #5
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

You could lay down an inch of dirt under an inch of the gravel you have. Cheaper and just as effective as Ferts.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:19 AM   #6
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DogFish View Post
You could lay down an inch of dirt under an inch of the gravel you have. Cheaper and just as effective as Ferts.
Hi DogFish, may you specified what dirt should I be using?
Is it those "Miracle Gro" Potting Mix?
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012