Harlequin rasboras jumpers?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 07:11 AM   #1
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default Harlequin rasboras jumpers?

So I was getting ready to sleep and heard a bunch of thumping noises near my aquarium. 2 of my harlequins jumped out. I put them back in And they seem fine, as I looked around some more I discovered a dead one looked to be dead for at least a day. Are they just natural jumpers? Seems odd that both jumped at the same time. Anyone know where I can get a plastic lid for a fluval flora?
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:11 AM   #2
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

They aren't natural jumpers... either the water in your tank is not to their liking or they're being preyed on.
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:25 AM   #3
Jaguar
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Jaguar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 837
Send a message via Skype™ to Jaguar
Default

I've had mine in a rimless for over 4 months with no jumpers. They're a bit skittish but mine prefer the mid level and rarely come up to the surface, not even to eat, so I can't see them jumping very often. It does sound like they got spooked or chased by something.
__________________
Jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:21 PM   #4
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 660
Default

You must have good hearing to hear a fish that small thump around.

I purchased 5 red tail tetra and piut them in a bucket and if I wasn't walking by the bucket I wouldn't have seen 2 jumped out.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:35 PM   #5
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

I wonder why they jump, I have never had an issue with any tetras/danios/rasboras jumping out of their containers before and I breed hundreds of them monthly.
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:01 PM   #6
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default

Thanks for the replies guys. They are the biggest fish in my tank so being prayed on isnt likely. They must not like something about the water, I know fish responds to toxins by jumping out but my neons are fine. Guess I gotta busy out the test kit tonight.
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:15 PM   #7
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

Neons that have been living in "toxins" would be fine after a while, they'd acclimate to the water quality.

However, this begs the question, did you acclimate the Rasboras to the water correctly? It could be that your water is completely fine, there is no bullying; just that they aren't used to the water, and would prefer to suffer a slow and antagonizing death than get used to it.
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:59 PM   #8
hgfx
Algae Grower
 
hgfx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Default

They are very skittish, as said before.
Mine are in an area of high traffic and had a couple of them jump out, (especially after lights out).
Left some of the plants grow over the surface, to provide a natural canopy.
Now they seem to be less spooked when someone walks by.
hgfx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #9
fusiongt
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Menlo Park, Ca
Posts: 812
Default

Any fish can jump even if they're not known as jumpers. Just because they jump after months of not jumping doesn't necessarily mean somethings wrong with your water. I know sometimes I have to turn on nearby lights at night and my fish freak out and I wouldn't be surprised if they accidentally jumped.

I'd say putting on a top is great for all aquariums but yes it does look uglier. I personally made a window frame to go on top of the tank so it just protrudes out a bit on the edges but otherwise is rimless (you could add a plastic mesh on it as well). I think if you take away the edges they will not jump as much... they still could but it's a lot better than not having something in the way.
__________________
fusiongt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:52 AM   #10
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fusiongt View Post
Any fish can jump even if they're not known as jumpers. Just because they jump after months of not jumping doesn't necessarily mean somethings wrong with your water. I know sometimes I have to turn on nearby lights at night and my fish freak out and I wouldn't be surprised if they accidentally jumped.
Correct. But in this case it looks like a problem with his water quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnghost View Post
they been in the tank for about 3 or 4 weeks now. and are alive and well this morning when i checked before i headed out. im thinking its the co2, it never bothered them before but i did take out half the plants in the tank recently so possibly co2 levels raised up with less plants uptaking co2? hopefully they are all fine when i get home. i put the glass top on the tank but it doesnt fit becuase of my intake out output tubes. the window screen is a good idea. thanks for the help
Do you mind posting water test results? I highly doubt excess C02 would make the water intolerable, as it would take a large amount of that to affect the breath-ability of the water. Perhaps the excess C02 has made your water too acidic?

Please do a full water test and post parameters. PH is the first place you should look.
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:27 AM   #11
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default

heres water parameters.

ph 6.3 confirmed with digital ph pen.
ammonia 0
nitrite 0
nitrate 0
gh 12? i added ferts about an hour before test
kh 7

the fish seem perfectly fine now. i think it was just my co2 yesterday, noticed it was flying a little bit higher today, probably from when i accidently dropped the cylinder landed on the needle valve. turned it down, all fish are swimming happily and the harlequins are not shy at all. top stays on the tank until all variables are verified thanks.
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:28 AM   #12
concepts88
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
concepts88's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Default

I just bought half a dozen haq rasboras, and I was overdosing Co2 because I had it on a setting but took some plants out, they were panting on top of the water and they didnt jump.. and they have been in the tank only for a day or 2.
concepts88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:29 AM   #13
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default

they been in the tank for about 3 or 4 weeks now. and are alive and well this morning when i checked before i headed out. im thinking its the co2, it never bothered them before but i did take out half the plants in the tank recently so possibly co2 levels raised up with less plants uptaking co2? hopefully they are all fine when i get home. i put the glass top on the tank but it doesnt fit becuase of my intake out output tubes. the window screen is a good idea. thanks for the help
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:30 AM   #14
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default

also should be noted my water ph is usually 7.2, now that i finally got a hang of this co2 thing its at 6.3. my other tank which is a low light no co2 tank is at 7.2 so your probably right maybe its the ph flux of the co2 or else way too much co2 that night it happened.
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:30 AM   #15
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

Just a tiny bit acidic. Good job fixing the problem!
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012