Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 12:44 AM   #1
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 672
Default Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil?

Wanting some opinions here on whether to use Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil for my 90 Gallon Planted tank. The eco-complete will run me around $250 shipped (for 3 inches deep)...the ADA will run me appx $350 (not really sure if the Normal Type or Powder type is better.....as well as how much Power sand would be needed. Any discussions/suggestions would be so helpful!
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:49 AM   #2
kribkeeper888
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
kribkeeper888's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Epicfail Washington
Posts: 639
Default

Well it depends on how much your willing to spend but I would say for results ADA is 100x better. Plants just grow better in soil lol. Also the powder is for putting on TOP of the normal ADA, not really a substrate of its own, although it can be used that way. Power sand Is basically a volcanic sand with a lot of surface area for bacteria to grow and thrive. If you can get ahold of some at a hardware store or somesuch its a LOT cheaper. Anyway just my 2 cents. And Ive used them both multipul times.
__________________
kribkeeper888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:15 AM   #3
Couesfanatic
Wannabe Guru
 
Couesfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,772
Default

+1. Order both regular and powder for that tank size. Throw throw powder on top.
__________________
Couesfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #4
aznrice247
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aznrice247's Avatar
 
PTrader: (31/97%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Couesfanatic View Post
+1. Order both regular and powder for that tank size. Throw throw powder on top.
I heard its better to put some of the power on the bottom and then put the regular in the middle then put the rest on the top. I'll prolong the lifespan of the substrate.
aznrice247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #5
exv152
Wannabe Guru
 
exv152's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,388
Default

Aside from low nutrients, pinholes are also caused by co2 deficiencies, or snails.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club,# 496
25g 60-H iwagumi
125g high tech
7g cube
33g iwagumi cube
75g low tech angelfish tank
exv152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:28 AM   #6
Centromochlus
Honeycomb Master
 
Centromochlus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Phoenix/Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 6,669
Default

The extra money for ADA Aquasoil Amazonia is well worth it. I have a 90g as well and it was expensive to go with the aquasoil, but having used flourite and turface before, i can confidently say that i will never go back to either of those. Aquasoil is arguably one of the best substrate products out there.

It's "magical" dirt.
__________________


Centromochlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 02:08 AM   #7
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 672
Default

How is its ease of use? How deep of a substrate do you usually go with? 3"?

I have used Flourite (meh), Flourite Black Sand (actually dislike it more than fluorite), and Eco-Complete (like it the best thus far)
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 03:16 AM   #8
kribkeeper888
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
kribkeeper888's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Epicfail Washington
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gafi View Post
How is its ease of use? How deep of a substrate do you usually go with? 3"?

I have used Flourite (meh), Flourite Black Sand (actually dislike it more than fluorite), and Eco-Complete (like it the best thus far)
I think 2" is plenty. 3 gets to be a lot and it costs a ton.
__________________
kribkeeper888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 03:43 AM   #9
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kribkeeper888 View Post
I think 2" is plenty. 3 gets to be a lot and it costs a ton.
So would you say like 2" of the actual aquasoil? Like do you put the power sand down first? then 2" of aquasoil, then 0.5 inch of aquasoil powder?
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:33 AM   #10
kribkeeper888
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
kribkeeper888's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Epicfail Washington
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gafi View Post
So would you say like 2" of the actual aquasoil? Like do you put the power sand down first? then 2" of aquasoil, then 0.5 inch of aquasoil powder?
Yeah I put about 1/3" power sand and then 1 3/4" aqua soil and then however much powder on top. There is no exact measurement for this, its mostly personal preference. What kind of plants are you going to have?
__________________
kribkeeper888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 02:30 AM   #11
Mike1239
Planted Member
 
Mike1239's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Baltimore md
Posts: 185
Default

I'm tired of Eco complete its so hard to get plant to stay in it while they are starting to root i bought 20lbs of it to try out and 20lbs of Carib-sea flora max which is the same stuff. I like the look but they are just too light
Mike1239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:51 AM   #12
Alastair-T
Algae Grower
 
Alastair-T's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: england
Posts: 93
Default

I'd just go pureky for the normal ada Amazonia new and not even bother with any power sand etc. those plants will flourish in the normal stuff perfectly. There's much more nutrients in the Ada than any Eco complete etc anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Alastair-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:56 AM   #13
chou
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 251
Default

Ada soil grows anything with ease. All 3 of my tanks run ada soil everything grows great.
chou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:41 PM   #14
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chou View Post
Ada soil grows anything with ease. All 3 of my tanks run ada soil everything grows great.
are you using just the strict aqua soil...or you using power sand and the powder type as well.....my concern with not using the powder as a top layer is will the fine stems, like HC actually root and stay in the normal type of aquasoil?
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:18 PM   #15
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

i use just aqua soil and no powder.. i don't root HC but other hard to plant weeds stay just fine with practice
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012