How does one dry start a tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default How does one dry start a tank

So how does one dry start a tank. I'm using Eco-Complete. I have 3 bags for my 29 gal tank I was told this will be enough If not I have 2 1/2 bags of Flora-Max I could mix in. I have no rock or driftwood as of now{I do not like the stuff in the LFS around here}. Ive been looking on line for some stuff but nothing caught my eye.

OK then this is going to be a low tech tank for now, I do have a CO2 setup {nutra-fin diy} I was told not to wash the ECO just dump it in form it fill with water let settle the add fish.

So for a dry star from my understand is dump in the substrate form the ground shape {highs and lows} add enough water to flood the low spot just enough to have a slite puddle, then plant and cove then let sit for a week or two then ad water cycle add fish.

Now can I plant my Anubias Congensis, Red Ludwigia,or is it just the low stuff like grasses ,Glosso and such?
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:58 AM   #2
metallicanick78
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
metallicanick78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Amston, CT
Posts: 436
Default

You got the concept down. high and low spots make it more difficult to dry start IME, plants in the low spots get too wet and plants in the high spots dry out. If I had to do it again Id make my substrate flatter. Amd most people suggest not letting the water level go above the substrate anywhere in the tank, however it hasent been a problem in mine for the last 4 months lol. If I were to do it again Id put some Miracle grow under the substrate, but some root tabs/osmocote tabs worked ok. Youll have to look up each plant you want to dry start seperately. A good amount of the plants out there will do fine!
metallicanick78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:38 AM   #3
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Well it became a moot questoin i was out vote 3 to 1 the tank is full and nothing in it oh well. I guess this means I am going to be getting wet.
Thanks
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012