Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2010, 09:48 PM   #1
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor

Have to thank our Russian friends for this one. After playing with the Rex Griggs reactor I wanted to try something else. Principal and cost are about the same design is different.

http://translate.google.com/translat...n&hl=&ie=UTF-8

What you will need:

Omni OB1 Series A House Filter
2- 1/2" Male Threaded Adaptors with Barb end
2- 3/4" 90 degree Street fitting
2- 3/4" PVC Male Adaptor
2- 3/4" x 1/2" PVC Bushing
1- 3/4" CPVC Coupling - Note this has to be CPVC not PVC as the PVC fittings are too big
1- 6 3/4" x 3/4" CPVC Pipe - Again has to be CPVC and not PVC
PVC Primer and Cement
CO2 Tubing
Teflon Thread Tape
Scissors
Needle Nose Pliers
Filter Tubing
Drill and Drill bit for your CO2 Tubing

Total cost as ~ $23 each about the same as the Rex Griggs inline reactor if you don't use clear pvc.

Filter Housing:





Start by removing the Priming Button via the screw on the inside of the lid for the housing:




Drill out the hole to accept your CO2 tubing this hole shpould be smaller then your CO2 Tubing so it creates its' own seal.



Cut the CO2 tubing at a sharp angle so you can stick it through and pull it with the needle nose pliers. This should be slightly tough to pull through as it will create a seal as you pull the tubing through.





Cut the CPVC pipe off at 6 3/4", if you are using a different filter you may have to adjust the cut off length. I cut mine so it was about 3/4" off the bottom. Push the CPVC coupler over the nipple in the lid, should fit really snug. Then push the CPVC pipe into the coupler. I didn't glue this together as it was a snug fit and should be under little pressure.




Lay out and glue the fittings together, with the fitting I chose you won't need any extra 3/4" pipe as all the fittings go together.





Attach the fittings to each side jsut make sure you hook them up according to the Flow marking on the lid. Finished Product.



I will update tomorrow once I install these as to how effective they are, but based on looks they should function really well. According to the article I linked to about he got a .5 PH change in a matter of minutes.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:24 PM   #2
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

Can you tell me where to find clear filter housing?
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:25 PM   #3
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmowbray View Post
Can you tell me where to find clear filter housing?

I just bought what was at the store, they had a clear filter housing but it was over $30 compared to the solid one I bought for $15
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:22 PM   #4
Praw
Algae Grower
 
Praw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigthor View Post
I just bought what was at the store, they had a clear filter housing but it was over $30 compared to the solid one I bought for $15
Which store might this be, just out of curiosity? I can find these online but I don't seem them on either Lowe's or Home Depot's site.
Praw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 05:06 PM   #5
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Praw View Post
Which store might this be, just out of curiosity? I can find these online but I don't seem them on either Lowe's or Home Depot's site.
They have them at the Home Depot store I never seen them online either.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:43 PM   #6
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

Can't wait for the update. I have seen other threads on these and they seem to work real well. aquariumplants.com seem to think so to:https://www.aquariumplants.com/Aquar..._p/ext5000.htm

The only difference is that they use a power head in the bottom to create more movement. They also add a sponge to keep the bubbles in the canister. Even if you went with the clear housing it would still be cheaper than the price they have listed.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:52 PM   #7
shane3fan
Master algae cultivator
 
shane3fan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens Ga.
Posts: 1,245
Default

I have been thinking of something like this--I wonder if a ceramic diffusor attached to the end of the hose inside of the housing would make any difference? Or would that be wasted time and energy--I guess trying it is the only way to know.
shane3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:54 PM   #8
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane3fan View Post
I have been thinking of something like this--I wonder if a ceramic diffusor attached to the end of the hose inside of the housing would make any difference? Or would that be wasted time and energy--I guess trying it is the only way to know.
I don't think I would want to have to take it apart that often as the disk would probably need cleaned every so often.
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 12:19 AM   #9
newday3000
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
newday3000's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 475
Default

[QUOTE=shane3fan;1087851]I wonder if a ceramic diffusor attached to the end of the hose inside of the housing would make any difference? Or would that be wasted time and energy[QUOTE]

I built one of these back in March and have been using it ever since. My thread is here

I tried the ceramic disk inside and the tiny bubles got sucked up into the outlet too easily. bigger bubbles worked better versus a fine mist from the disk. I also tried a micron cartridge to trap CO2 inside the chamber which worked fine but the micron cartridge clogged and started to grow algea.



I use a dedicated pump to work the reactor which I think is best to avoid impact flow on my canister filter. I get really good CO2 circulation around the tank 4' 75G.

I now chop bubles on intake of powerhead to the inlet of the reactor and use long tubing to pull water from the bottom of the chamber.

I find this system works great, I have cheap home filters at Canadiantire in Canada that are clear so I can see CO2 bubbles inside the chamber. I can also vent the excess CO2 or air out of the chamber with a button on the top of the filter.


I got a 10# CO2 tank to last over 5 months on a 75G with this diffuser running with a PH controller.
__________________
75 Gallon High Tech Planted Tank (Journal) 220 Gallon African Cichlid tank (Journal)
Ponds http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ponds/140285-pond-project-jungle-vines.html pics, pics
newday3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:42 AM   #10
Quesenek
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 352
Default

Hi all, I tried mine out today after a month of collecting Co2 equips and the cerges reactor that I built leaks the Co2 into my tank for some reason even after I put PVC pipe glue on the top of the output connection where the coupling is.

I'm not by any means saying it's a bad reactor since it still turned my drop checker lime green in a matter of 2-3 hours with 3BPS.

Just an update for you guys.
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #162
Quesenek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 03:52 AM   #11
Elohim_Meth
Algae Grower
 
Elohim_Meth's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 114
Default

Just one warning. If you've got a clear housing, don't tighten the lid too much, it may crack. I've cracked one housing already...
Elohim_Meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 04:05 AM   #12
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

I use to use a series of these filters with a mag drive pump to filter a 55g tank. They worked great. Media was cheap. Flow was great. If you look around online you can find them wicked cheap.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 04:41 AM   #13
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

Interesting. Never thought to use one of those things for a reactor. I wonder how flow will be affected, if any, by this reactor. I hate how pvc reactors decrease the flow of the pumps. Please report on how efficient this reactor is. I got one in the shed that I used to use to polish my water.
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 04:57 AM   #14
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokturnalkid View Post
Interesting. Never thought to use one of those things for a reactor. I wonder how flow will be affected, if any, by this reactor. I hate how pvc reactors decrease the flow of the pumps. Please report on how efficient this reactor is. I got one in the shed that I used to use to polish my water.
Having them both installed I don't notice alot of flow reduction, as far as efficency I will watch the tank tomorrow and see what happens.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 08:32 AM   #15
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

Definately gonna keep my eye on this post. Maybe I'll just give this try anyways. I got a clear housing and it might be a bit easier to see how much co2 is actually being dissolved. I may even try it with a filter module so it can double as a water polisher.
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012