The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Flourite + Sand (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=641)

fraggle 01-24-2003 02:14 AM

I was just thinking, if I have 2" flourite, then put 1.5 inches of sand over that, isn't the sand going to mix in with the flourite?

Buck 01-24-2003 01:10 PM

Yes it definately will...
What I did was to work the sand into the flourite with my fingers so that it fills the gaps between flourite chips. Then when you have it pretty much "filled" add another layer of sand over it.
When you plant in it you will stir up some flourite also but if you want it covered just add scoops of sand after planting and you are all set.
I have been in and out of my substrate getting the final scaping done to my likes and I am going to wait a few days to be sure that I am sure and then I will add a final sand layer and let it grow.

I really like the sand look and I am happy I decided to try it... I was worried about it being to "compact" a substrate for fine roots but after uprooting a few plants for friends and also for rescaping the tank the roots obviously have no trouble whatsoever ! They almost root TOO good... LOL
Even the Cardamine lyrata which has very fine roots has done very well in sand... :)

fraggle 01-24-2003 01:20 PM

So you are really mixing the sand and flourite, not layering it?

GulfCoastAquarian 01-24-2003 01:39 PM

Yeah, it amazes me how well plants root in a seemingly compacted substrate! The most impressive roots I'd ever seen were in a tank with exlusively kitty litter! That stuff is like a granulated fine powder. Makes a mess, but the plants LOVE it.

Buck 01-24-2003 03:40 PM

It is impossible to keep it from mixing...
once you put in all your Flourite ...only add a little sand to it and work it into flourite and repeat until you have no air bubbles in substrate.
If you do not work the sand into flourite first you will get " sinkholes " later down the road as it settles.
Then just add however much more sand you want for looks over the settled layer you just created.
I add sand here and there and have also pythoned some right out the door to my lawn in places that I had to much...
Also
The bottom feeders love the sand...my cory will vaccum this stuff like no tomorrow...he sucks the sand in and blows it back out through his gills ... very kool to watch.

PhishNeslo 01-28-2003 02:55 PM

what kind of sand do you use? silica play sand? corse filter sand for swimming pools?

tyler 01-28-2003 06:40 PM

don't forget to rinse either. a pillow case works very well for this.

Buck 01-29-2003 02:53 AM

I got the sand from home depot and it works awesome... no regrets here...
The best part other then the looks is that it changed no parameters whatsoever in my water column which was one of my concerns.
I would use this stuff again in a heart beat... :flick:

Bucks Sand


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.