The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Florite? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=5173)

Clownknife 02-17-2004 10:13 PM

I have a 200g how many bags of forite do I need? Is there a cheaper way. I'm a newbie at planted tanks.

Rolo 02-17-2004 11:02 PM

There is subtrate calculator just above this post, and a ton of articles on this forum alone dealing with this. Use the search button, its your friend.

A cheaper way would be kitty litter or sand. 50 lbs of playsand is usually no more than $10/bag, usually $6. Plain old kitty litter can run about $2/bag.

Broken 02-17-2004 11:06 PM

Since I am new as well at planted tanks I am wondering the same thing about what to use. Will sand get in my filters? XP 3 filstar and Millinum 3000? Any advantage/disadvantage using sand or florite, I need to do this right the first time hate to make costly mistake

Rolo 02-17-2004 11:21 PM

Again, there are TONs of info answer the questions you're asking on the forum, use the search button first.

Anyway, the sand won't get into the filters unless the intake is right by the sand. Sand as the advantage of easy planting and very cheap campared to fluorite. The disatvantage is that it doesn't have any CEC, Cation Exchange Capcity, which just means it doesn't hold nurtients for the plant roots. It also can compact which isn't good. However, about 9/10 people IME love thier sand.

Fluorite has high CEC, its made specifically for growing aquatic plants, and won't compact. Disatvantages are high cost relative to sand, and clouding the water - but this part is due to ineffective rinsing. Alot of people use fluorite dust free, and a few don't get it right.

Clownknife 02-18-2004 02:28 AM

Quote:

Again, there are TONs of info answer the questions you're asking on the forum, use the search button first.


Although I love to read. I havent had time to sit down long enough to research tonight. Sorry I didn't use the search button. But thanks for the info.

all4funwfish 02-18-2004 02:38 AM

no, it wont get in your filter, unless you stir it up into suspension in the water....just wash everything prior to placing in the tank....was, and wash, and wash a bunch. as for preferences, search the forum. all these questions have been answered many times over.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.