The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Fish (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Fishless Cycle Ammonia Questions (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=337186)

Patrunkenphat7 05-20-2013 01:52 PM

Fishless Cycle Ammonia Questions

I am wondering how much ammonia you add per day per every 10 gallons of water for the fishless cycle in a heavily planted aquarium. Also, are there any recommendations on what "brand" of ammonia to purchase to insure that there will not be any additional chemicals in the solution?

I have never done a fishless cycle before, so I want to make sure that it will not negatively affect the plants.

Thanks!

Shazray 05-20-2013 02:09 PM

I plan to do the same. Here are my notes if they will help you:

ACE hardware sells pure ammonia. Dose to 5ppm. When water tests read 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite, do 90% water change to lower the nitrates and you should be able to fully stock after the water change.

The liquid ammonia tests that API make are measured in parts per million. It doesnt have to be exact. You can add from 5ppm to 8ppm to do the cycle. 8 ppm takes longer, since there is more ammonia to consume, and then more nitrite to consume bit it builds up more beneficial bacteria in the tank.

Heating the tank to about 85 degrees can also help speed up the fishless cycle.

Vin 05-20-2013 02:13 PM

You can also do it without adding anything. Let the tank run for 4 -5 weeks with plants and it should be cycled.

Shazray 05-20-2013 02:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vin (Post 3402450)
You can also do it without adding anything. Let the tank run for 4 -5 weeks with plants and it should be cycled.

I don't think that is possible without having some type of seeded media in the tank. For the nitrogen cycle to start ammonia needs to be added to the water.

somewhatshocked 05-20-2013 02:29 PM