The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Finnex / Schuber Wright (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=145)
-   -   Just got my fugeray (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=310353)

BarbH 04-18-2013 06:58 PM

Just got my fugeray
 
My 48" fugeray came in today, and love the look of the light, plants are coming in tomorrow so timing couldn't have been more perfect. Question that did come to mind is if the fixture is plugged into a gfci would that be enough to protect it in case of a power surge or outage? Or should I plug it into a surge protector strip? Don't usually have issues with power surges or outages live across from a hospital and on the same grid which has been very stable. But with severe storms in this evenings forecast and having to work I didn't want to come home to find that possibly my new light fixture got fried before I even got to use it.

Sent from my SCH-R720 using Tapatalk 2

JoeandCarrie 04-18-2013 09:02 PM

IME, renters/home owners insurance only covers electronics if they are plugged into surge protectors. I wouldn't risk a $150+ light on "just" a gfci. A surge protector, even the cheap ones, will protect your investment much better.

just my two cents, but 25$ on a surge protector seems smart. I screw mine to back of the stand on all my tanks. You get a drip loop also, so that's a win.

-joe

BarbH 04-18-2013 11:26 PM

Re: Just got my fugeray
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeandCarrie (Post 3161673)
IME, renters/home owners insurance only covers electronics if they are plugged into surge protectors. I wouldn't risk a $150+ light on "just" a gfci. A surge protector, even the cheap ones, will protect your investment much better.

just my two cents, but 25$ on a surge protector seems smart. I screw mine to back of the stand on all my tanks. You get a drip loop also, so that's a win.

-joe

Thanks Joe for the reply. I do have a surge protector under the stand which I have the filter and heater plugged into. Will have to see if there is a way to get the power supply box on the light mounted on the side of the cabinet, the distance between the bottom of the cabinet and the surge protector is great enough that the box doesn't sit on the bottom but hangs. Don't want to create any unneeded tension on the wires and would like to stay away from using extension cords if possible.

Sent from my SCH-R720 using Tapatalk 2


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.