The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/)
-   DIY (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/20-diy/)
-   -   DIY Electric shut-off valve (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/20-diy/29619-diy-electric-shut-off-valve.html)

toofazt 04-14-2006 02:16 AM

DIY Electric shut-off valve
 
I needed a automatic shut-off valve for my RO-DI system and it had to be before the water line got to the RO-DI unit. So I decided to see what I could come up with. I went to Wal-Mart and got a Automatic Float Switch ($11.28) in the boating section. Then I went to Lowe's and got a 1'' Sprinkler Valve ($10.92) and a 24V Transformer ($12.97) in the sprinkler section. I already had the pvc pipe fittings (~$6).
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...8/P4080582.jpg

This is how I hooked up the pvc fittings to the Sprinkler Vlave.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...8/P4080584.jpg

Here is how I set it up. If you can't tell how I hooked it up or have a question, just ask :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...8/P4080587.jpg

A picture of the holding tank (trash can) with the Float Switch and final water line from the RO-DI unit. To mount the Float Switch I just cut out a peice from a plastic 'shoe box' and bolted it to the trash can with stainless steel hardware. Where it bolted to the trash can I used rubber washers to keep it from leaking.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...8/P4080591.jpg

Full shot of my set up.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...8/P4080593.jpg

exmt 04-14-2006 02:31 AM

Looks great there!

DiabloCanine 04-14-2006 05:51 AM

Does the waste water shut off too?.....DC

unirdna 04-14-2006 06:06 AM

Steve,

Fantastic Post!!!! I'm going to print this off and set up this system on my RO/trashcan system. Thanks for taking the time to share and document. Deserves a sticky :proud:.

edit* Is that an "Aquasafe" unit (from eBay)? I have that same unit. Retail is for suckers :).

toofazt 04-14-2006 06:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DiabloCanine
Does the waste water shut off too?.....DC

When the valve is closed there is no water going to the RO unit, so there is no waste water.

toofazt 04-14-2006 06:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unirdna
Steve,

Fantastic Post!!!! I'm going to print this off and set up this system on my RO/trashcan system. Thanks for taking the time to share and document. Deserves a sticky :proud:.

That's what I want to hear :hihi: After forgeting to turn off my RO unit TWO times and getting water all over my garage TWICE I decided I needed to do something, lol.

DiabloCanine 04-14-2006 02:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toofazt
When the valve is closed there is no water going to the RO unit, so there is no waste water.

So the valve is between the input water and the RO unit? Don't know how you're moving water but a garden hose setup like this sure is a nice convenience http://www.cichliddomain.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13 ......DC

Wasserpest 04-14-2006 05:22 PM

This is great! Looking for a replacement for my mechanical floatswitch. Off to WM I go!

How precise does this hold the water level? Do you think it would be suitable for a aquarium water change system?

toofazt 04-14-2006 11:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wasserpest
This is great! Looking for a replacement for my mechanical floatswitch. Off to WM I go!

How precise does this hold the water level? Do you think it would be suitable for a aquarium water change system?

It will hold the water level the same everytime. You just have to mount the Float Switch in the correct position.

Naja002 04-16-2006 07:06 PM

Quote:

This is great! Looking for a replacement for my mechanical floatswitch. Off to WM I go!
Yes, it is! I didn't know walmart had anything like that....

Toofazt: I'm just wondering how its working out, and if You can give me the dimensions of it in inches--wondering just how much space it actually takes up inside a tank.....

66 north 04-16-2006 07:43 PM

I'm going to do this if I can find everything, were the PVC fittings easy to come by?

Wasserpest 04-16-2006 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Naja002
give me the dimensions of it in inches--wondering just how much space it actually takes up inside a tank.....

It is 4 3/8 in long, and the width of the flap is 2 3/4 in, with the whole body incl knob extending about 4 in.

That's the reason why I want to try to set this up outside of the tank... some light would get blocked by it for sure.

Wasserpest 04-17-2006 03:01 AM

Question... the floatswitch instructions list and repeat several times that the switch is not to be used with AC. Even DC via transformer is not recommended. Isn using 26 or so VAC anyway going to cause issues?

toofazt 04-17-2006 04:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wasserpest
Question... the floatswitch instructions list and repeat several times that the switch is not to be used with AC. Even DC via transformer is not recommended. Isn using 26 or so VAC anyway going to cause issues?

No, it's won't be a problem because the transformer only puts out 750mA. That's very low, it won't burn up the float switch.

Wasserpest 04-17-2006 05:46 AM

Thanks, that's too exciting. Found someone knowledgeable at HD who pointed me to the clearance table for a 24V transformer - can it get any better?? Got it all installed and wired up, just need to connect it to the XP outflow. Thanks a bunch Toofazt for posting this. The clean "click" is much better than the slowly fading hissing of the mechanical float valve strangling itself. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.