The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Algae (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Diatom invasion (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=266098)

OrangeAugust 03-05-2013 06:13 PM

Diatom invasion
 
I have brown algae in my tank, which I believe is diatoms. It rubs off easily, but it is on every surface! My 3 nerite snails can hardly keep up with it. It's annoying when I have to rub algae off my camboba (or myriophyllum.. idk which one it is) every 3 days.
The tank has been running for almost 3 months.

10 gallon tank, divided for 3 bettas
gravel substrate
no ferts or CO2
LED lights
photoperiod- about 12 hours+
plants: amazon sword, rosette sword, and what Petsmart calls "Frill" (I think it's either Camboba AKA fanwort, or Myriophyllum pinnatum).
Ammonia and nitrites are 0. My kit didn't come with a bottle to test nitrates.:confused:
inhabitants are 3 bettas, 3 nerite snails, a pond snail, and some tiny ramshorn snails that I hardly ever see (my fish may have eaten them).

GreenBliss 03-05-2013 07:19 PM

12 hours+ is a lot of light. I would cut it down to 8 hours. Get a test for nitrates and see how high your levels are.

Fuze 03-05-2013 07:57 PM

Get some ottos, I had diatoms on my glass and 2 of them in a 55 gallon keep the glass completely clear of it.

OrangeAugust 03-05-2013 08:03 PM

I can't get Otos because it's a divided tank so I'd only be able to put one in each section. They wouldn't be happy without buddies. My snails do ok, but they can't eat the algae off the floating fanwort and they haven't really done much on my plants- just the glass and dividers, mainly.
I'll try to shorten the photoperiod.

BruceF 03-05-2013 08:16 PM

What are you using for a filter?

kochman 03-05-2013 08:37 PM

in my experience at the petstore i work at it will happen if nitrates get to high. On feeder goldfish tanks etc.... where there is high bio load we see it. i have also heard from so sources that green is too much light and brown is too little. I think in your case i would look at nitrates. Filtering also can be issue . Just IMHO

OrangeAugust 03-06-2013 03:05 AM

I'm using the Tetra Whisper 10i as a filter...

I will get another test kit that includes nitrates. Is it possible that my tank isn't fully cycled yet even though it has been running for 3 months and I used a filter cartridge and gravel from another established tank? My nitrites and ammonia have never been above 0.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.