The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Angelfish Tank Dark Substrate? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=234714)

KingGlenn 02-04-2013 04:32 AM

Angelfish Tank Dark Substrate?

I am going to set my 72 bow front up as an angelfish tank, and I wanted to make it a planted tank. I am new to planted tanks, and didn't have much luck when I tried one years ago. I have spent a good bit of money on the canister filter and lighting, and didn't want to spend a ton on substrate, but I want to do it right. I also want it to last a long time, as I don't plan on moving anytime soon and want this to be a permanent fixture in my home. I have seen black diamond recommended and just dirt. The dirt suggestion scares me a bit because that can refer to a wide range of products and i don't want to add anything that would be harmful to fish. Can you suggest what kind of "dirt" to use? I need a good starter mix suggestion, and what sort of fertilizer to add and how often to add it to maintain fish and plant health. Also, I plan on keeping plecos and clown loaches not sure if that will affect suggestions. Another note, I wanted to use a substrate that would help maintain a slightly acidic tank as that is what Angels prefer (6.5-6.8) Thanks

pmcarbrey 02-04-2013 04:37 AM

dirt can refer to mineralized top soil, MGOCPM (miracle grow organic choice potting soil) or a number of commercial pre-mineralized products, all of which though would require a cap. i would personally go for a cap of black diamond medium grit (20-40) it's what is in my pinoy angel tank and i love it

KingGlenn 02-04-2013 04:51 AM

Thanks, I have used the MGOCPM in my Chameleon enclosures, but wasn't sure if it was safe for aquarium use. Is there any need to add starter fertilizer if I use this suggestion?

Jaguar 02-04-2013 05:19 AM