The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Fish (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Fully cycled already? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=221937)

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:01 PM

Fully cycled already?
 
I started cycling my tank on the 13th ... today i did my normal water change and tested the water and was shocked to see 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 5+ ppm nitrates

however my tests never read any nitrites ... so i am wondering is my tank truly cycled or not

somewhatshocked 01-22-2013 07:05 PM

Are you using a liquid test kit?

It's possible your tank really is "cycled."

How were you cycling it? Water changes during a fishless cycle are not necessary. Were you adding ammonia to the tank?

l8nite 01-22-2013 07:08 PM

That seems much too fast.

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:09 PM

i am doing a fish in cycle so i have been busting my butt to keep him healthy

yes i have an api master test kit :) i have never used strips

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:12 PM

i know its fast thats why i am asking ... maybe i did something wrong?

l8nite 01-22-2013 07:12 PM

Do you have plants in there too? If so, your plants are probably using up the ammonia/nitrates. If it were me, I would probably do 20% water change every couple of days for another month, just to be safe.

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:13 PM

i have a full log of water changes and test results but i cant type it up on my ds

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:14 PM

nope its not planted yet ... just my betta a filter a heater and a ceramic hide

l8nite 01-22-2013 07:16 PM

Yea, it's probably just a lull in the cycle then - keep up the good work on water changes and keep testing.

FWIW my 5G Betta tank took about 40 days to fully cycle (fishless, I was adding ~3ppm ammonia).

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:19 PM

why would my tank go from a steady .25 ppm ammonia to 0? that really concerns me ...

i have been doing daily 40% waterchanges since my ammonia got up to 1ppm ... should i keep the same amount and frequency?

l8nite 01-22-2013 07:33 PM

Since you registered Nitrate and no Nitrites, your bacterial colony might be large enough to process the tiny amount of ammonia left over after your big water changes - in which case, your tank is "cycled" (meaning, you have a colony of Nitrosomonas and Nitrobacter present).

Try cutting your water change frequency to every 2 days (but test each day still) and see if it remains constant.

Elliriyanna 01-22-2013 07:42 PM

will do :)

Aquaticz 01-22-2013 08:12 PM

I think many change out to much water when cycling. I start off at 50 percent and work it until about 30 percent. I always pack as many plants as possible... Fo me That is the secret



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Elliriyanna 01-23-2013 09:10 PM

tested again today ... exact same readings .. maybe a trace of ammonia it was hard to tell it was so close to zero. i am wondering if i shouldnt test my tap water for nitrates

shloken38 01-23-2013 09:25 PM

Won't hurt to test the tap. LOTS of people find nitrates in their tap.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.