The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Does Eco Complete Limit Choices of Ground Covers? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=220153)

Tenor1 01-21-2013 04:33 AM

Does Eco Complete Limit Choices of Ground Covers?
 
What ground covers can grow in Eco Complete? I saw a thread here that mentions dwarf hair grass would not do well in it. What would do well in it?

Aquatic Delight 01-21-2013 05:15 AM

more of the concern is with your lighting and if you are running CO2 or not. Eco and will grow most anything.

Darkblade48 01-21-2013 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aquatic Delight (Post 2302369)
more of the concern is with your lighting and if you are running CO2 or not. Eco and will grow most anything.

+1. More important factors will be your lighting, CO2 (and subsequent fertilization) that will determine what plants you can grow.

Tenor1 01-21-2013 11:44 AM

Thank you Aquatic Delight and Darkblade. I use pressurized CO2 and have over 100 PAR at the substrate using a LED light system. I read a comment in a thread here saying dwarf hairgrass would not grow in it, or any other ground cover.

I am just in the process of a redesign and wanted to have a ground cover.

somewhatshocked 01-21-2013 03:33 PM

All plants will grow in it.

Since the grain size is larger than, say, Aquasoil? Individual blades of grass and such just won't necessarily be as close to each other as they would in a finer-grained substrate. Sometimes they thicken up over time, though.

You shouldn't have a problem using it.

Tenor1 01-21-2013 03:48 PM

Thanks Somewhatshocked,

Maybe I can consider HC also. I was told at our local ADA store that the ground covers would only grow in ADA soil because of the dirt-like texture and size. I was very disappointed since I had just replaced Seachem Onyx sand with the Eco Complete. After 10 years with the sand the Ph was uncontrollable and would go extremely high. I consulted with Seachem and found it was that particular substrate. Our local stores had a recall on it several years ago, but way after my tank was setup.

Aquatic Delight 01-21-2013 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tenor1 (Post 2304721)
Thanks Somewhatshocked,

Maybe I can consider HC also. I was told at our local ADA store that the ground covers would only grow in ADA soil because of the dirt-like texture and size. I was very disappointed since I had just replaced Seachem Onyx sand with the Eco Complete. After 10 years with the sand the Ph was uncontrollable and would go extremely high. I consulted with Seachem and found it was that particular substrate. Our local stores had a recall on it several years ago, but way after my tank was setup.


rofl thats a salesman for you, and a flat out lie as you can learn from googling pictures on the internet. i lost a little respect for them.

i have have grown DHC in eco complete and it did just fine.

Tenor1 01-21-2013 04:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aquatic Delight (Post 2304969)
rofl thats a salesman for you, and a flat out lie as you can learn from googling pictures on the internet. i lost a little respect for them.

i have have grown DHC in eco complete and it did just fine.

YEAH!!! I'm going to get HC, it's so easily available in my area.

Darkblade48 01-21-2013 09:54 PM

HC will grow just fine, as long as you maintain a good fertilization regime and CO2 levels.

100 umol/square inch of PAR is more than enough. You could probably even reduce that a bit.

Tenor1 01-21-2013 10:03 PM

Thanks for the info Darkblade,

I dose iron and Excel daily and all other Seachem ferts with each 2x-weekly water change. Seachem created the dosing amounts based on a heavily planted tank.

The tank has over 100 PAR of LED lighting at the substrate, so it should be enough for HC.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.