The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/)
-   Equipment (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/9-equipment/)
-   -   Atomic Inline CO2 Diffuser? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/9-equipment/219745-atomic-inline-co2-diffuser.html)

unicknn 01-20-2013 10:30 PM

Atomic Inline CO2 Diffuser?
 
Ok I went out and got myself a CO2 tank and regulatorwith bubble counter) today at my LFS. I also ordered a Fluval 306 on [Ebay Link Removed] I want to use an inline diffuser and found this one:

http://greenleafaquariums.com/co2-di...ffuser-16.html

Is this a good one to use or should I look at other ones? Also if I get an inline heater should I put it before or after the diffuser?

Thanks
Nick

fishwater 01-20-2013 10:56 PM

I just installed mine and couldn't be happier. Just remember that all the atomic line equipment works better at 30psi.

ThatGuyWithTheFish 01-20-2013 10:57 PM

Only problem is that it's much easier to gas your fish. Be careful.

unicknn 01-20-2013 11:21 PM

Is getting to 30 psi a problem?

unicknn 01-20-2013 11:29 PM

would this one be a better choice?

http://www.amazon.com/U-P-Aqua-Inlin...rds=inline+co2

fishwater 01-20-2013 11:42 PM

That looks like almost the same diffuser not sure but just aqua up brand. I meant anything that refers to atomic or atomizer I'm pretty sure needs 30psi. Not knowing what regulator you have, we can't tell you if getting 30psi is a problem or not.

ThatGuyWithTheFish 01-20-2013 11:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unicknn (Post 2299281)

No Up Aqua is rather cheap.

unicknn 01-21-2013 12:01 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hmm well I dont know what kind it is either lol. It doesnt have any markings on it. Heres a pic of it next to a coke can for size reference. The gauges go up to 3500 psi and 140psi

scbrooks87 01-21-2013 06:34 AM

That one is adjustable up to 140 working psi, so you would not have any trouble getting it up to 30psi into the atomic diffuser. You would use that large black knob in front to adjust working pressure, then use the needle valve on the right side of it below the bubble counter to adjust how much co2 goes into the tank. I would suggest getting a drop checker though, so you can make sure you don't add to much co2 and gas the fish. I'd start at 1 bps and see how the indicator solution looks after a few hours, then adjust accordingly from there till you're getting that nice green color.

But yeah, I've never used the atomic diffuser, or any other for that matter, however I've found very very few bad reviews on it. Only complaint I've seen is a buildup of algae inside the diffuser and not being able to clean it since it's encapsulated.

-Scott

acitydweller 01-21-2013 08:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unicknn (Post 2299585)
Hmm well I dont know what kind it is either lol. It doesnt have any markings on it. Heres a pic of it next to a coke can for size reference. The gauges go up to 3500 psi and 140psi

That's a regulator. Judging by the nondescript gauges, it looks like a Milwaukee. A diffusor is something that either sits inside the tank ot connects up to a canister return line to release fine bubbles into the tank.

acitydweller 01-21-2013 08:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scbrooks87 (Post 2303209)
But yeah, I've never used the atomic diffuser, or any other for that matter, however I've found very very few bad reviews on it. Only complaint I've seen is a buildup of algae inside the diffuser and not being able to clean it since it's encapsulated.

-Scott

Have you tried soaking in bleach and giving it sufficient time to work?

scbrooks87 01-21-2013 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acitydweller (Post 2303521)
Have you tried soaking in bleach and giving it sufficient time to work?

I personally have not had one, but it's the one I'm looking to get for my setup, so I was doing a lot of review searching to see what people thought.

Soaking it in bleach probably would be effective, or even setting a pump up to it and letting the pump run a bleach water solution through it. My only concern is that the diffuser portion may act as a sponge, making it hard to get all the bleach out, so if I get an algae issue in the diffuser I'd probably try vinegar water first.

-Scott


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.