The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Algae (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Can GDA be transferred via filter pad (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=216378)

Virto 01-17-2013 02:49 PM

Can GDA be transferred via filter pad
 
Short and sweet question - I've got a 20L that's been cycling for about a month, but it's going along really slowly. Ammonia stays around 1ppm, nitrite 0.25 and nitrate 5-10. The new bacteria colonies are obviously present, but they're taking their sweet time in getting established.

I could move a portion of the filter pad from my well established convict tank to provide a working bacterial colony for the new tank, jumpstarting the process - but the convict tank does have a minor case of GDA and I don't really want to risk moving it to the new tank. The log in the convict tank also has some BGA, but it stays put in little patches.

Is there a real risk of moving GDA from tank to tank via filter pad? If so, I just won't bother and I'll let the cycle continue normally.

plantbrain 01-17-2013 06:59 PM

Yes, however, I've tried this on several tanks without any success to inoculate the control tank.

The alga is viable, but does not take in the control tanks.
I've repeated this about 20X now over 4-5 control tanks.

New tank issues sound more like the problem.

Virto 01-17-2013 09:30 PM

Cool, thanks for the response.

-Kelly


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.