The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Equipment (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   SOLVED: CyberPower UPS + Rena XP3 (XP-L) = No Good? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=210026)

Bubba_Shrimp 01-10-2013 10:33 PM

SOLVED: CyberPower UPS + Rena XP3 (XP-L) = No Good?
 
I have two CyberPower 1500AVR UPSs that I use for computers.
I just hooked my aquarium equipment (2x Rena XP3) into one of the UPS and decided to do a power outage test and was very disappointed.

When I unplug the UPS power cord from the wall outlet it switched to a battery backup and both filters started making ‘scratching’ noise and the outflow was down to almost 0.

I tried the second CyberPower UPS – same results. I’m glad I tested this now…

Are CyberPower UPSs not good for this kind of application?

SOLVED: Rena XP3s are working fine with CyberPower PFC compatible Pure sine wave (PFCLCD) UPS!

Bubba_Shrimp 01-10-2013 11:57 PM

Just tested Rena XP3 with an old APC ES 725 - same problem. What the heck?

scbrooks87 01-11-2013 12:12 AM

Oh man I remember back in my reefing days hearing that battery backups are not good for aquarium equipment... I am trying to remember why for the life of me, has something to do with the way the battery delivers the power or something. I'll do a little research, see what I can find.

-Scott

Bubba_Shrimp 01-11-2013 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scbrooks87 (Post 2206234)
Oh man I remember back in my reefing days hearing that battery backups are not good for aquarium equipment... I am trying to remember why for the life of me, has something to do with the way the battery delivers the power or something. I'll do a little research, see what I can find.

-Scott

The output wave most likely. It has to be a sine wave and CyberPower supposedly has simulated sine wave… I’m scratching my head at the moment…

sbarbee54 01-11-2013 12:23 AM

You need to make sure they are line interactive ups. I use them and have some alpha tech battery back ups for my tanks and they last about 45 min. I am about to buy a generator


Sent from my iPad 3 using Tapatalk HD

scbrooks87 01-11-2013 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubba_Shrimp (Post 2206266)
The output wave most likely. It has to be a sine wave and CyberPower supposedly has simulated sine wave… I’m scratching my head at the moment…

This is pretty much EXACTLY what I found. Here's a forum post from a similar question...

"Being an Electrical Engineer, I know that most battery backup systems that you can buy in your local Wal-Mart or Target stores (APC comes to mind) that are strictly battery backup will provide essentially a square wave output when operating (versus a sine wave from the power company), and most pump equipment could potentially be damaged under such a power source - they're just not designed to operate on that type of power. So I would think that at most, you would just want to select one power head to put on battery backup and make sure you have enough established Live Rock in the system to support biological conversion during an outage."

This isn't my knowledge, just someone else who has a much better understanding lol.

They further went on to say:

"If you wanted to run the main pump off a backup system, I would think the ONLY way to do it would be to do it right, and buy a "True" Online Double-Conversion UPS. This device takes the input from the power company, converts it to DC, then back to AC to the equipment it supplies power to. The batteries are charged on the DC side. This type of unit provides a nice clean sine wave (it also cleans up the utility power signal so you will extend the life of your equipment) but it also costs quite a bit - usually $300 to $500. You will usually get longer running time also, since these are designed to keep a larger piece of equipment running, such as a computer server long enough to keep the system running during a short-term outage, and with enough time to perform a proper system shut-down once the batteries start to run out."

Hope any of that helps
-Scott

Bubba_Shrimp 01-11-2013 12:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sbarbee54 (Post 2206322)
You need to make sure they are line interactive ups. I use them and have some alpha tech battery back ups for my tanks and they last about 45 min. I am about to buy a generator


Sent from my iPad 3 using Tapatalk HD

This is from my CyberPower 1500AVR description: "Line interactive, AVR and GreenPower Corrects brownouts and overvoltage without using the battery. GreenPower UPS reduces energy consumption up to 75%".

BriDroid 01-11-2013 01:01 AM

Yep, square wave and these magnet motors don't get along well.

Bubba_Shrimp 01-11-2013 01:13 AM

Will this work then?
http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1.../dp/B00429N19W

scbrooks87 01-11-2013 01:43 AM

That looks like it would fit the bill. Indicated it does change it back to AC power before sending it to the equipment. I personally don't have the electrical engineering background to say from my own knowledge that it will work, but it seems to me that it matches the description of the person I quoted. :)

UDGags 01-11-2013 02:10 AM

I don't think that's what you want. According to the description you want Online Double-Conversion UPS.

http://cyberpower.advizia.com/CyberP...CyberPower_UPS

Bubba_Shrimp 01-11-2013 02:26 AM

Anybody has $600 laying around for me to test it out? :red_mouth

Darn, these things are expensive... How do hobbyists go around the backup power problem for their filters/pumps?

UDGags 01-11-2013 02:29 AM

I think most would have a back-up generator. If you have enough money to invest in a large high-tech reef or even discus tank you most likely have enough money to install a generator.

UPS aren't going to last for a long power outage anyways.

Bubba_Shrimp 01-11-2013 03:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UDGags (Post 2207594)
I think most would have a back-up generator. If you have enough money to invest in a large high-tech reef or even discus tank you most likely have enough money to install a generator.

UPS aren't going to last for a long power outage anyways.

Which generator would you recommend? I see gas/gasoline/diesel powered... tons of options out there.

scbrooks87 01-11-2013 03:32 AM

I'd go for a plain gas generator, so long as you have an outdoor space for it to sit, and enough gas, you could keep your tank running indefinitely when the power goes out.

Only issue with a generator is that even when not in use, they have to be serviced regularly, otherwise they are likely to not work when you need them.

-Scott


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.