The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Setting up flourite (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=201413)

t2dxk0 12-22-2012 03:15 PM

Setting up flourite
 
Hello all, The first time I tried to set up flourite didn't go so well.

I had to drain the tank and take out the flourite.

So I googled and searched and this time I'm going to rinse it in a bucket until it runs clear and add the water very slowly and hopefully avoid getting a 30 gallon mud puddle.

Anyone have any last minute tips before I give it a try?

Thanks a lot!

HD Blazingwolf 12-22-2012 03:54 PM

RINSE TILL ur water bill reaches 100000 dollars

otherwise, if u dont rinse it will eventually settle or get picked up by the mechanical media

the longer and better u rinse though, the better ur chances of not having cloudy water

Knotyoureality 12-22-2012 08:10 PM

I found it much easier to rinse in small batches than large; small batches are easier to get thorough agitation so as much is suspended in the waste water as possible before it's poured off.

A big cat litter box worked well for me. Doesn't have to be tipped as far as a high bucket so it's easier to get more water out on each rinse and the broad base spreads the flourite out so it's easy to get the entire mass agitated on each rinse. Easier to see how clear the water is getting as well, not being in a deep light sink like you get in a bucket.


Bucket's still handy--use it to hold the batches as you finish rinsing 'em.

t2dxk0 12-22-2012 09:11 PM

Sounds like a plan. I've got an unused cat box and I'll rinse, more rinsing is better. I'm glad I asked. Thanks a lot guys.

thenameless 12-22-2012 11:35 PM

yeah small batches are the best. i had to rinse 2 and a half bags of flourite but there was no cloudy water at all!!!

Bandit1200 12-23-2012 03:30 PM

I never rinse my flourite and never had a problem. The key is a slow fill. I use a bucket and an airline tubing to siphon water into the tank. Sure it takes a while, but it's still faster than spending 2 days or more trying to wash the stuff out and/or having a cloudy mess in the tank.

m00se 12-23-2012 03:41 PM

This video shows you the easiest way there is to install substrate without the mess. He's using a 1 liter but I've used 3 liter bottles and even the big iced tea ones like Arizona. The key is to be ready when the bottle empties to cap it off with your hands. This works!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-XB0bwtZh8

Knotyoureality 12-23-2012 03:50 PM

I've done several tanks now with the stuff--and will always choose to rinse. Not necessarily crystal clear rinsing, but at least knocking the dust back a significant amount.

My first time using it, I didn't rinse, was super careful filling and wondered why there was such a fuss about it. Right up until I did a major re-scape that involved pulling up major root systems. Took massive water changes, filter cleanings and close to a week to get the water clear again.

stevenjohn21 12-23-2012 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m00se (Post 2120728)
This video shows you the easiest way there is to install substrate without the mess. He's using a 1 liter but I've used 3 liter bottles and even the big iced tea ones like Arizona. The key is to be ready when the bottle empties to cap it off with your hands. This works!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-XB0bwtZh8

This is by far the easiest and quickest way. Ive done it to all my tanks and never had a problem.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.