The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Plants (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   HC carpet Plan--Doomed? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=199559)

teatimecrumpet 12-06-2012 06:25 PM

HC carpet Plan--Doomed?

Hi,

I'm new to planted tanks and aquariums. But hopefully will be receiving HC from gordonrichards soon.

I was going to go the moss and anubias route but then came across HC.

What are you thoughts on the success of this:
  • I plan to plant HC in carbisea eco-complete (2.5"-3"). I know it's not sand but would it work anyway?
  • Have it emersed and covered with saran wrap. (I wouldn't cover the top of the tank but would lay a piece of saran wrap over it doing my best to have the saran adhere to the sides as much as possible.
  • Lightly spraying daily with a 50/50 solution of this fertilizer keeping it moist but not pooling: http://www.amazon.com/Aqueon-06023-A...ium+fertilizer
  • Then after a month if it's still alive add water to tank about an 1" a day.
  • Then use a diffuser to pump CO2 into the water from a diy yeast reactor once it's all sumberged?
  • Not sure on my lighting right now.
Thanks

HybridHerp 12-06-2012 06:31 PM

sounds good
although, when I dry started it, all I did was have it in dirt capped with sand and then misted it, with my lighting only being the sun outside. Worked great until I did a stupid and got the whole thing covered in algae and then ended up killing it when trying to get rid of algae, but your plan should work :D

just make sure you have ample lighting and you should be fine.

Darkblade48 12-06-2012 07:09 PM

Some points I would like to touch upon:

I would use saran wrap to cover the top of the aquarium. You can try to put the saran wrap closer to substrate level and have it stick to the sides, but you may find this will not work that well.