The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Equipment (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Aquaclear 70 with 20 impeller, who done it? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=199191)

sayurasem 12-03-2012 04:34 AM

Aquaclear 70 with 20 impeller, who done it?
 
Hi guys looking for opinions on using aquaclear 70 with lower impeller such as 20, 30, or 50. I talked to DogFish and he said Hagen recommend only using two grades down on the impeller.

I just wanted to know if anyone ever done AC70 with a AC 20 impeller and what is your opion on it. Btw I'm trying it for a 10 gallon shrimp tank only. The big bio filter on the AC70 would be great to hold media for shrimp.

blink 12-03-2012 04:37 AM

I tried an aquaclear 70 with a 30 impeller and it wouldn't pull hard enough to operate, you might have better luck with it. I tried the impeller from a 50 and it was fine but might be more flow than you want.

In.a.Box 12-03-2012 04:42 AM

another way is to cut one or two of the fan off the impeller to lower the flow :)

HypnoticAquatic 12-03-2012 06:00 AM

ive done it with the 50,30,20 id have to go look but im 99% sure that the motor is the same in the 70 also ive even used the mini and they worked fine.

as to the the part cutting one fin of thats not smart you are setting it out of balance its better to shave or trim the fins down to a smaller diamiter vs removing them.

on my 5.5g shrimp tank i have a ac30 and a mini on it yes it alot of flow but if u know how to diffuse the water it works great, that said if u can diffuse the output i would just use the 70 on the tank, i would use the hardscape or use some of that plastic mesh and see if a piece folded in the shape of a C on the output would slow it enough for your preference*i think it should*, or have a piece follow the water on the outtake and have a little float on the surface say 2inch or so should do the trick.

i dont have an extra manual handy unless i open a sealed one to verify there the same motor unit but they should be so try it. also if the flow is to much u can use a drimmel and cut out the boundary so u can turn it to the right more like ive seem people say, many ways to skin a cat just see what way works for u!

acitydweller 12-03-2012 09:26 AM

-1 to the idea of trimming the impeller. Just like the wheel balance of your car tires, youlll likely attribute to noise and premature wear if trimmed leaving unequal weight at all corners.

The Big Buddha 12-03-2012 10:34 AM

Could you put the impeller in a drill and sand down the blades equally with some sand paper to remove it equally and retain the balance?


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.