The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (
-   Equipment (
-   -   Peat moss question (

Yamaz 11-15-2012 02:06 AM

Peat moss question
I have a 15 gal tank and im trying to lower the ph levels. I currently use a sponge filter. Can i just put peat moss in a media bag and put it directly in the tank? or do i need a hob or canister filter?

discuspaul 11-15-2012 04:08 AM

Yes you can. But be prepared for tannins leaching into the water from the peat. It will turn your water tea-colored, but many people like that and it doesn't bother the fish.

But why use peat ? What's your pH now and why do you feel the need to lower it ?

But if you really want to use peat, to produce soft, acidic water, remember to change it out for fresh new peat every few weeks, as it can lose it's effectiveness.

msjinkzd 11-15-2012 04:36 AM

i honestly would suggest pre-treating your water change water. Peat makes a MESS. A dirty soupy mess, and I am one that loves tannins.

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.