The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Replacing Aquasoil (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=197353)

NyteBlade 11-15-2012 12:35 AM

Replacing Aquasoil
 
How often do you guys replace aquasoil, or do you? Between every new scape, every few years, when you move the tank... ?

Diana 11-15-2012 02:13 AM

Some materials fall apart quicker, and I think some of the ADA products were pretty bad that way. If you have one of the better ones then it should last a very long time, and be reusable when you are re-scaping, even removing it from the tank and storing it for a short time.

dmagerl 11-15-2012 01:04 PM

When I used Aquasoil I noticed that at about the 2 year mark, I had to start supplementing with root tabs to get good plant growth.

Overall, I was not a happy camper with Aquasoil. From the water discoloration to the disintegration, it did not make for a pleasant user experience.

sunyang730 11-15-2012 01:29 PM

Currently, I am replacing it like once every 6 month because I am not happy with the scape. LOL hope that I can get a scape I am happy about soon.....

TexasCichlid 11-15-2012 02:10 PM

Supposedly the new Aquasoil is supposed to not melt as quick. Mine has been set up for ~10 months with the Amazonia New and has showed no signs of degrading.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.