The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Using old substrate as dry start grow out? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=193495)

sayurasem 10-10-2012 09:14 AM

Using old substrate as dry start grow out?
 
Hi guys, just wanted to know if I can use an old Aquasoil or Fluval Stratum for my dry start grow out/ farm?

Right now I have about 1 bucket of used fluval stratum, have been more than one year being planted under water. I really dislike the idea of disposing these soil. So maybe I can use it to grow plants in dry start setup? Also I'm aware that this soil probably has little to none nutrients in it, so I would like to know how to "recharge" or put back the nutrients back into the soil.

I need to know what should I do or prepare before I start planting.

Thank you!

somewhatshocked 10-10-2012 01:01 PM

You can use anything, really. Just have to make sure the plants receive proper nutrition.

I use old substrate in grow out tanks, house plants, succulent mixes, et al.

150EH 10-10-2012 08:32 PM

You might be able to use a very small amount of Osmocote mixed in with the soil or sprinkled on the bottom of the container being you will have no worries about an algae bloom.

sayurasem 10-11-2012 02:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by somewhatshocked (Post 2038692)
You can use anything, really. Just have to make sure the plants receive proper nutrition.

I use old substrate in grow out tanks, house plants, succulent mixes, et al.

What about misting the plants with water mixed with ferts in it?
Is that okay?

Quote:

Originally Posted by 150EH (Post 2039178)
You might be able to use a very small amount of Osmocote mixed in with the soil or sprinkled on the bottom of the container being you will have no worries about an algae bloom.

so basically root tabs?


Thanks for the replies guys!

DogFish 10-11-2012 03:12 AM

You could lay down an inch of dirt under an inch of the gravel you have. Cheaper and just as effective as Ferts.

sayurasem 10-11-2012 06:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DogFish (Post 2039594)
You could lay down an inch of dirt under an inch of the gravel you have. Cheaper and just as effective as Ferts.

Hi DogFish, may you specified what dirt should I be using?
Is it those "Miracle Gro" Potting Mix?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.