The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Substrate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=191061)

Gafi 09-18-2012 12:44 AM

Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil?
 
Wanting some opinions here on whether to use Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil for my 90 Gallon Planted tank. The eco-complete will run me around $250 shipped (for 3 inches deep)...the ADA will run me appx $350 (not really sure if the Normal Type or Powder type is better.....as well as how much Power sand would be needed. Any discussions/suggestions would be so helpful!

kribkeeper888 09-18-2012 12:49 AM

Well it depends on how much your willing to spend but I would say for results ADA is 100x better. Plants just grow better in soil lol. Also the powder is for putting on TOP of the normal ADA, not really a substrate of its own, although it can be used that way. Power sand Is basically a volcanic sand with a lot of surface area for bacteria to grow and thrive. If you can get ahold of some at a hardware store or somesuch its a LOT cheaper. Anyway just my 2 cents. And Ive used them both multipul times.

Couesfanatic 09-18-2012 01:15 AM

+1. Order both regular and powder for that tank size. Throw throw powder on top.

Centromochlus 09-18-2012 01:28 AM

The extra money for ADA Aquasoil Amazonia is well worth it. I have a 90g as well and it was expensive to go with the aquasoil, but having used flourite and turface before, i can confidently say that i will never go back to either of those. Aquasoil is arguably one of the best substrate products out there.

It's "magical" dirt. :proud:

Gafi 09-18-2012 02:08 AM

How is its ease of use? How deep of a substrate do you usually go with? 3"?

I have used Flourite (meh), Flourite Black Sand (actually dislike it more than fluorite), and Eco-Complete (like it the best thus far)

Mike1239 09-18-2012 02:30 AM

I'm tired of Eco complete its so hard to get plant to stay in it while they are starting to root i bought 20lbs of it to try out and 20lbs of Carib-sea flora max which is the same stuff. I like the look but they are just too light

kribkeeper888 09-18-2012 03:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gafi (Post 2014763)
How is its ease of use? How deep of a substrate do you usually go with? 3"?

I have used Flourite (meh), Flourite Black Sand (actually dislike it more than fluorite), and Eco-Complete (like it the best thus far)

I think 2" is plenty. 3 gets to be a lot and it costs a ton.

Gafi 09-18-2012 03:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kribkeeper888 (Post 2014823)
I think 2" is plenty. 3 gets to be a lot and it costs a ton.

So would you say like 2" of the actual aquasoil? Like do you put the power sand down first? then 2" of aquasoil, then 0.5 inch of aquasoil powder?

kribkeeper888 09-18-2012 04:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gafi (Post 2014848)
So would you say like 2" of the actual aquasoil? Like do you put the power sand down first? then 2" of aquasoil, then 0.5 inch of aquasoil powder?

Yeah I put about 1/3" power sand and then 1 3/4" aqua soil and then however much powder on top. There is no exact measurement for this, its mostly personal preference. What kind of plants are you going to have?

Gafi 09-18-2012 04:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kribkeeper888 (Post 2014891)
Yeah I put about 1/3" power sand and then 1 3/4" aqua soil and then however much powder on top. There is no exact measurement for this, its mostly personal preference. What kind of plants are you going to have?

Well, to initally get the tank up and running it will be primarily Stems, with eventually incorporating 2 pieces of large driftwood with moss and ferns around that....then most likely going for a dutch setup with some stems, crypts, some other fore/midground plants (havent entirely decided yet)....maybe som HC or gloss or some other carpeting plant. We have a local store getting a massive shipment of Tropica plants, so I am going through their website atm.....if you have any suggestions, I surely welcome them!

Alastair-T 09-18-2012 08:51 AM

I'd just go pureky for the normal ada Amazonia new and not even bother with any power sand etc. those plants will flourish in the normal stuff perfectly. There's much more nutrients in the Ada than any Eco complete etc anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chou 09-18-2012 08:56 AM

Ada soil grows anything with ease. All 3 of my tanks run ada soil everything grows great.

Gafi 09-18-2012 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chou (Post 2015009)
Ada soil grows anything with ease. All 3 of my tanks run ada soil everything grows great.

are you using just the strict aqua soil...or you using power sand and the powder type as well.....my concern with not using the powder as a top layer is will the fine stems, like HC actually root and stay in the normal type of aquasoil?

HD Blazingwolf 09-18-2012 01:18 PM

i use just aqua soil and no powder.. i don't root HC but other hard to plant weeds stay just fine with practice

kribkeeper888 09-18-2012 04:42 PM

You dont need any more then 2" for those plants if you were planting large sword plants then you might want 3 inches otherwise you dont need it. And you could add powder just cuz i think it makes it look better.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.