The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Lighting (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   10 gallon Tank (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=189322)

parrottbay 09-01-2012 07:05 PM

10 gallon Tank
 
Good Afternoon fellow "planters",

I have few questions on lighting for a ten gallon. I have a regular 15$ dollar 10 gallon that I would love to turn into a shrimp tank. I would also want it to be able to grow a green carpet since I have had no luck with my 72 or 36 gallon with carpets. I dose everything that flourish recommends/ sells and how they say how and when to dose, so I would plan to follow those same guidelines into the ten. I want a black substrate and would think dark flourish would fit these needs? Money is no option, is a little bit of worry like with anyone but I wanna do it right the first time and be able to know how to fix/unscrew my 36 and 72. I have been reading this link but I am unable to understand it when it goes into multiple bulbs etc. http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=105774
And I also have a problem when trying to order it like from amazon because I can not look at the reflectors. Any help is appreciated because I do not know who to turn to other than you guys! Thanks again!

nchumley 09-01-2012 07:12 PM

What kind of lighting do you use?

parrottbay 09-01-2012 07:44 PM

In the 72 I have a Nova Extreme x4 and the 36 I have a aquasun t5ho that I run for 12 hours roughly on a timer.

Elrodg 09-01-2012 08:24 PM

Dude I use two 100watt CFl on my ten and have a half marimo, half dhg carpet that is already in need of thinning. There isnt much of a footprint on a ten so with all the substrate you are looking at what 9-13 inches?

parrottbay 09-01-2012 10:31 PM

So these lights in this link will be sufficient for the ten? Just making sure I got the right thing...I appreciate this BC this is WAY cheaper than buying a metal halide just for a 10 gallon. How did you hook these up on the aquarium?

http://www.amazon.com/Watt-Energy-Sm...bulbs+100+watt

QQQUUUUAADDD 09-01-2012 11:14 PM

No, they're not the correct spectrum. You could get an incandescent fixture and put these bulbs in or get some of those metal dome lights from Lowes,.

Elrodg 09-01-2012 11:40 PM

Make sure they are daylight and not cool white. And they will do fine. I change mine out every three or four months with new because they do tend to lose their strength over time. But yes. Two of those can in some cases be a bit overkill.

Hoppy 09-02-2012 03:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by parrottbay (Post 1998338)
Good Afternoon fellow "planters",

... I have been reading this link but I am unable to understand it when it goes into multiple bulbs etc. http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=105774
And I also have a problem when trying to order it like from amazon because I can not look at the reflectors. Any help is appreciated because I do not know who to turn to other than you guys! Thanks again!

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368 is a much more up to date reference.

parrottbay 12-13-2012 04:21 AM

Thanks Hoppy, and btw I am now using a Oddysea fixture, Thanks guys for the help!

talontsiawd 12-13-2012 05:15 PM

I like using a incandescent hood with two CFL's. I would start at maybe 10-13 watts. The reason I like this setup is that you have so much adjustability compared to using florescent tubes. You can start at a lower light level and increase as your plant mass increases. Go to far, just put the old bulbs back in. I use daylight bulbs in lamps and other places but it bugs some people. If it doesn't bug you, you are really only out the cost of 2 bulbs because you can use them elsewhere if you go to dim/bright as you experiment with different amounts of light.

parrottbay 12-19-2012 12:27 AM

Thank you for your time and help!


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.