The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Tank Journals (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   My 29 gal family living room tank updated 4/9/13 (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=187939)

zzrguy 08-20-2012 08:49 PM

My 29 gal family living room tank updated 4/9/13
 
So I have this disorder called Iwantone. My buddy has a really nice Planted tank and I like it a lot. So now I want one. Petco had a sale I got the Aqueom deluxe kit for $69 it was $85 out the door tax it came with a 17 watt bulb, a HOB filter, and a heater. Now I need a stand.

http://www.aqueonproducts.com/assets...3592_400wh.jpg

There was a Nutra-Fin CO2 setup in the clearance rack I got that for $3. as well as Eco-complete and Fora-Max I got 3 bags of each for $1.50 a bag I hope its enough to do the tank.

http://www.swelluk.com/img/shop/orig...t-system-1.jpg

I've been keeping fish in small tanks a 3 gal bowl[Betta and a shrimp] and a 5.5 gal tank{Chiclids and a Loache} both tanks have planted so I'll use them. The 5.5 tank I'm going to thin out to use in the new tank and all the plants from the bowl are go in the new tank. The 5.5 gal is going to be the Betta new tank. I'll add the list of plant when I get home so what else am I going to need.

garloki72 08-20-2012 09:41 PM

Wow! You got everything dirt cheap!! Were did you get the nutra fin kit on sale at, I also live on LI and would love to know!

zzrguy 08-21-2012 01:44 AM

Petco by Smithhaven mall but that is the last of the Nutra-Fin but there is more substrate for $1.50

zzrguy 08-23-2012 04:21 AM

So I'm think of seeding the tank use the whisper 10 hob filter I have in the 5 gal. I have a nano filter I am going to use on the 5 gal when it becomes the betas new home (the flow rate is adjustable ) so I was going to start running it on the 5gal with the other filter. How long do you think it will take to cycle the nano filter?

Does anyone think I'll kill the Whisper10 I plan to run on the 29gal to seed it or am I look at this all wrong?

zzrguy 08-24-2012 05:21 AM

OK so heres a list of plants I own.

Anubias Congensis (Anubias Barteri var. Congensis)
Red Ludwigia (Ludwigia repens)
Sword (Echinodorus palaefolius var. latifolius )
Aqua Fern (Trichomanes javanicum)
Asian Water-fern (Bolbitis heteraclita)
Lesser duckweed (Lemna minor)
Antler fern/Hooker (Ceratopteris Pteridoides)

zzrguy 09-06-2012 08:34 PM

Well today was my lucky day I was picking up my paycheck and bam right there in front of me was a tank and stand free-o is for me-o. So now i have everything I need to setup the tank.

So stay tuned.

zzrguy 09-07-2012 09:27 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Here the first pics still some bubble in the tank just set it up last night.

Neatfish 09-07-2012 09:31 PM

Can't wait to see how this turns out. We're starting the same size tank at the same time.

zzrguy 09-07-2012 09:47 PM

Well I set it up last night and it has some bubble in it but they are clearing up.

The substrate is Eco-Complete With a slite high spot on the left side under the filter I have about 2 inch of substrate do you think I need more I have an other bag.
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/at...4&d=1347049571
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/at...3&d=1347049533

zzrguy 09-07-2012 10:01 PM

Aurgh!!! The more I look at it the more it looks like it need the other bag.

The wires will be neaten up.
Now I was thinking of painting the back.{thing to rember the next time Paint first:eek5:}

zzrguy 09-07-2012 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neatfish (Post 2003795)
Can't wait to see how this turns out. We're starting the same size tank at the same time.

How deep is your substrate? mine about 2" and Im thinking of adding another bag.

zzrguy 09-07-2012 10:56 PM

Well just did a water test.
0 Ammonia
0 Nitrite
5.0 Nitrate {Im guessing it from the Eco-Complete}
7.8 PH

I'm going to Change out about 4 gal with water from one of my other tank that been up and running for about 6 mounth and is running good some filter media is come over to. all the fish are healthy so i think that will give the tank a little boost.

Fishly 09-07-2012 11:16 PM

If you choose to add the other bag, I suggest you slope it from 2.5" in front to 4-5" in back. Keep an eye out for anaerobic spots, though.

flowerfishs 09-07-2012 11:41 PM

if you want to make the slop. you need another bag.

zzrguy 09-08-2012 01:23 AM

Yep that bag is going in later.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.