The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Planted Tank Discussion (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   All Advice Welcome: Tell me anything and everything. (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=183968)

Liacon 07-18-2012 02:09 AM

All Advice Welcome: Tell me anything and everything.

Hi. I'm new to planted tanks, and so I could use a little advice about anything and everything. I've done some research and kept a betta before, but other than that I have no experience so I'd like to draw on your expertise. For my first tank, this is what I'm thinking of getting hardware wise (its still up in the air):

55 Gallon Black Rim Aqueon Tank
Penguin350B Biowheel Hang-on Filter
Lighting Hood (No ideas- please help)
Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate 40 lbs.
Stick on thermometer
Heater (No ideas- please help)
Fish Food (No ideas- please help)
Petco Manhattan Metal Stand 55 gal size

I have no idea about which heater or lighting to get. I also would like suggestions on fish and plants (can you keep Discus in a 55 gal?) and anything that comes to mind. :D

Trickerie 07-18-2012 03:16 AM

First, do not try to keep Discus. You need a lot of fish keeping experience to be successful. In a 55g, there are a ton of options out there, just find a few you like and go from there. Pick one centerpiece fish or pair, and get suitable tank mates. For example, a school of boesemani rainbows is a good place to start.

I'd highly suggest a canister filter instead of the hang on filter. Something like the AquaTop CF-500UV is perfect for a 55g.

For lighting, a single bulb catalina fixture will do you good: http://www.catalinaaquarium.com/stor...oducts_id=1834