The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Equipment (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   ext5000 (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=165975)

inkslinger 02-19-2012 01:02 PM

ext5000
 
I bought this thinking I could do away with the 7-up look. I like the idea but I do believe that the clear container should have been longer for more faster flow rate. I'm using this on my 110g tank to replace my Atomic diffuser.
I have a Eheim 2262 that i connected too and I see a lot of micro bubbles dancing around in my tank? My co2 is like a stream just to get my DC to turn green by the end of the day.
I've check for leaks an every thing is ok , I do see a lot of co2 passing thru the sponge by the force of my filter flow, should I replace the sponge or will this slow the flow down if a more finer sponge was use? How about adding some micro bio balls to break up the force of the water going in?

Deahttub 02-19-2012 06:53 PM

If i had to guess, too much flow...try to cut it down a bit

inkslinger 02-20-2012 05:13 AM

Yes I also think is the flow, I need something to break up the flow in the canister or get a longer canister for the reactor would also work.

inkslinger 02-22-2012 06:46 PM

Will any type house filter wrench work in removing the canister to this reactor.

Craigthor 02-22-2012 06:53 PM

I would think so as long as the it grips the cannister.

inkslinger 02-23-2012 04:36 AM

Is the thread size of the canister a normal npt. I notice they come in
ether inside or outside threads . I wounder if I find a longer canister will it fit the ext5000?
I didn't see any markings on the house filter to see what brand it would be?

inkslinger 02-24-2012 10:34 PM

IMO: I thinks is got to have a longer canister {20inch long} and a a little stiffer sponge to able to hold shape when the faster flow hit's it {I notice that the sponge that came with collapse where the flow hit's it and that's where the co2 collects and goes out into the tank} I've called tec support at http://www.aquariumplants.com/ and ask if a longer could be order , He said he will let me know if it could or if he can find another way for this to work for a faster pump flow.
So crossing fingers and toe's!!

ccar2000 02-24-2012 10:41 PM

Do you think that installing a bypass using a tee before and after the reactor with a ball valve to modulate the flow through the reactor without reducing the pump flow capacity. Know what I mean?

Craigthor 02-24-2012 10:41 PM

This housing looks like it might fit:

http://www.waterfilters.net/20-3G-Cl...r-Housing.html

If I had the time and some cash I would order and give it a go.

inkslinger 02-25-2012 12:17 AM

I was look at that too Craigthor . I think a 20inch will work better , the tec service from
Aquariumplants.com said he is going to check an see if he got one laying around or he can order the 20inch canister for me or see if he can come up with another that size.
I hope he comes thru , I did told him I was disappointed because it states that it will work with any size pump that is the reason I bought it.

{ Even though this Reactor is adequate for aquariums up to 1000 gallons, we still highly recommend it for ALL aquarium (with an external filter or pump system) no matter what the size... }

except Eheim 2262 filter should had been listed IMO hehee!! , Told him I was using more co2 to get my drop checker to go green than when I was using the Atomic diffuser , maybe they will come out with a second size to sell.

Craigthor 02-25-2012 09:39 AM

Definitely let me knwo what they find out may be worth the upgrade as well on my end once I got to my sumped system with larger return pump.

Jim_PA 02-25-2012 09:59 AM

It funny this topic comes up now, as I have the same reactor, and I am trying to figure out how to connect it to my 125 g with sump. I was going to put it inline after my return pump, but it sounds like I will have the same problem with to much flow. I have 2 returns on my tank, and my pump is MAG18.

Thanks

Craigthor 02-25-2012 10:04 AM

I'll be using a mag 24 but had planned to have a bypass line with lower flow to run the UV and CO2 reactors.

Jim_PA 02-25-2012 10:12 AM

Any suggestions how to setup a bypass line? I will be doing all my plumbing later today, this is for new tank as well. 125g. Right now, my return pump goes into a T, which then goes to each return on the sides of my tank. I have a maxi jet 900 that on my UV, which is in the sump. I would rather not put the CO2 reactor on this, but if it comes down to it I guess I could.

Craigthor 02-25-2012 10:14 AM

To make it easy I would jsut run the reactor and UV on the maxijet.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.