The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Shrimp & Other Invertebrates (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   Tiger Tank...official start (now with shrimp) (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=163123)

Nubster 01-29-2012 06:18 AM

Tiger Tank...official start (now with shrimp)
 
Tank is painted...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...ankPainted.jpg

The filter has been constructed...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...ank/Filter.jpg

Canister is waiting...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...unSunCF300.jpg

Lava rock is seeding...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...k/LavaRock.jpg

And substrate is ready...

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k2...nk/Akadama.jpg

My RO/DI is up and running and I ran some tests on my water supply. Out of the tap I am getting:

pH 7.6
KH 5
GH 6 or 7
TDS 117

Out of the RO/DI:

pH 6.5
KH 0-1
GH 0-1
TDS 2

Both KH and GH took one drop to change color (API test kit) so that figures in to be around 0 for the actual values.

So now let me just check to make sure this is correct. I have Kent's RO Right. I take my RO water, add RO Right until I get back to a GH of 4-5. That's it? KH and TDS will just fall into line? Then after that, I can use my TDS to know what my clean water reading is and use that for future mixing of RO water for WC's or other tank fills?

mordalphus 01-29-2012 06:24 AM

No, you add RO right until your _GH_ is 4-5, KH should stay 0


BTW, sweet UGF :P

Nubster 01-29-2012 06:27 AM

Yeah...I miss typed the KH/GH and got them flip flopped.

Yeah, I thought that filter was pretty sweet too. Props to the developer :wink:

mordalphus 01-29-2012 06:31 AM

You gonna lay some old sea mud down under the akadama? I think that's important when using akadama

Nubster 01-29-2012 06:56 AM

hmmm...why's that? What does it do? Where can I get some? Is it a fish tank sort of supplement or something I can find at the local healthy living shop?

mordalphus 01-29-2012 06:58 AM

You can use montmorillonite clay in a crunch.

Akadama literally strips minerals out of the water. I believe that when using old sea mud under the substrate minimizes this stripping of minerals, or at least controls it to a point.

Nubster 01-29-2012 07:01 AM

Ah...I see. So will the Akadama become saturated at some point and stop stripping stuff from the water or will this be a constant concern? I see that Mosura has old sea mud. Price doesn't seem too out of line unless I need a bottle a month or something. Says it will last 6m under the substrate then dose to the water column.

mordalphus 01-29-2012 07:07 AM

Correct, it lasts about 6 months under the substrate. After which point it'll decrease it's effectiveness.

A bottle a year is more like it. The stuff is cheap, and as an under layer beneath your substrate it can help curb the stripping effect of akadama and other active soils.

speedie408 01-29-2012 07:16 AM

I've been using Akadama without any noticeable mineral stripping for over 2 months now. Though I did notice that it took over a month to cycle the damn tank due to nitrate creep. I was still able to keep livestock in the tanks after the first week, just had to keep doing 20% WCs every week, remineralized back up with MMP every time. Maybe that was the reason why I wasn't noticing any GH fluctuations.

Snowflake311 01-29-2012 07:45 AM

Did you paint the sides? If so Why?

Nubster 01-29-2012 12:52 PM

Painted the sides, yes. I do that to my tanks because it helps make the shrimp/fish/plants pop against the background, it gives the occupants more security, and it hides stuff from view such as wires and filter tubes.

hedge_fund 01-29-2012 01:37 PM

great looking start you have going there

DesmondTheMoonBear 01-29-2012 02:05 PM

Nice!!! :D

One day I'll have a dedicated shrimp tank.

h4n 01-29-2012 02:39 PM

So far so good!! I want another tank!!!

hedge_fund 01-29-2012 02:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mordalphus (Post 1698357)
You gonna lay some old sea mud down under the akadama? I think that's important when using akadama

I have a set up with akadama as well but I did not use any supplements under the substrate. Tank is set up and going for a few days now -- should I be adding anything if I just use regular tap water? This whole akadama thing is new to me.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.