The Planted Tank Forum banner

New here

1K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  jmcc000 
#1 ·
Hey Guys. I just found these message boards and there great. Im new to planted tanks but not new to fish. I have over the years bread many FW fish and Reptiles. Im over in Merritt Island so im not to far from you Orlando guys. I used to be a member of ORCA its a reef club over there. I would like to try and get over to one of your planted tank meetings, let me know when you have another. Are there any others in the Brevard area?
Jason

#2 ·
Welcome! We haven't officially had any aquatic plant meetings around Orlando yet. I've met up with one member and am planning on meeting another this Sunday at Ocean Blue aquarium around 1 PM. If you want some free clippings, stop on over!

Brian.

#3 ·
Welcome jmcc000, glad to have you here. You've definitely come to the right place. This is like the Reef Central of planted tanks 'cept on a MUCH smaller scale :) . Feel free to ask any and all questions you might have, as the only way you'll learn is by asking (or making mistakes, whichever is easiest for you!)....

#4 ·
Thanks for the welcome. Im doing a 37 gallon, and its pretty tall. Im looking into getting Power compacts for it. If i do that do i have to have CO2? Im a little lost on the CO2. I dont really want to get into the high light plants at first maybe just some easy to keep low light plants, any suggestions?
Thanks

#5 ·
Is that the 30" wide tank that is taller than the typical 29g (my first tank)? If so, then it is quite high.

When you state you're going with PCs (which are great by the way), my mind jumps to high tech. You then state no CO2 and low-light plants. So, my mind is a bit unsure of your strategy. Good low light plants would be the Anubias family, Java ferns and Java mosses. Lots of folks have done very creative designs with these plants.