The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   South Carolina (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   Plants in the upstate (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=128963)

sjuapseorn 02-18-2011 11:33 PM

Plants in the upstate

Anyone know of anywhere other than the PetSmart in Spartanburg/Gaffney area to buy plants.

I'm looking for some stuff that I can grow really easily in a 2.5 gallon. Been eyeballing the "Java Moss" for a while but neither of the 2 places I've been sell it.

Or maybe a reputable site that wont rip me off..
I'm totally new to the plant thing..

SJ

DKRST 02-20-2011 08:37 PM

I'm in Moore and have the same problem - no good local fish shops. I purchased online and had good luck. It's the shipping cost that kills you! I purchased a plant pack from www.thatpetplace.com and each bunch/plant averaged out to about $2.50 (including shipping). There are many other vendors online and you also may be able to find a person on the tropical fishkeeping forum (you use your same user ID and password to join that forum). They have a buy/sell thread on their forum. You can also try Charlotte...

sjuapseorn 02-21-2011 12:25 PM

thanks for the reply!

I think I'll stick with buying from board members. That way everyone who is on here benefits. I can coordinate shipping easier with members vs. an online retailer.

i'm in class most all day every day so I have to be careful when stuff comes in or it will sit in my box for a while. With summer approaching that could be devastating to my plants.

prjct92eh2 03-03-2011 01:51 PM

I work near boiling springs and am constantly throwing out trimmings. Let me know when you need some and we can meet and i'll give them to you.

sjuapseorn 03-23-2011 04:03 AM

Wow I should have subbed my own thread!!

I'm still looking for some kind of low lying easy to grow plant for my substrate.