The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   Plants (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Java Fern Maximum Growth Size? (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=12817)

travis 12-31-2004 04:35 PM

Java Fern Maximum Growth Size?

I'm planning on adding some Java fern to my 125G for the first time and was wondering what your experiences have been with the maximum height / width growth of Java fern. I'm going to be putting in some standard, Windelov, and narrow leaf varieties to see how they all look. I'm not so concerned about them getting too big for the tank as I am in planting them in the proper locations to begin with. Thanks! :)

Thanks 12-31-2004 05:49 PM

my standard java fern is about 8 inches tall and 1.5 inches wide at the widest point. i have no experience with windelov or narrow, though narrow gets about the same size except half as wide. A word of warning: even though they are said to be "slow growing", each week i have to harvest about 1/8 pound of baby plantlets (and i dont have that much in the tank). i have some babies on wood, and in a month they were half as big as the parents. :icon_bigg good luck

Dwarfpufferfish 12-31-2004 06:00 PM

Java ferns can get VERY large. But it takes a very long time. Mine are about as big as thanks, but they do not throw out as many babies. I wouldnt worry to much about them getting huge!

Buck 12-31-2004 10:07 PM

Quote:

I wouldnt worry to much about them getting huge!
Bull to that ... how about 12" leaves that are 3" wide... they (standard variety) get as big as a sword plant , narrow leaf is a little more forgiving in width but leaf length can exceed the 12"... windelov is a tighter pattern but I have had some extensions in the 7-8" range. Ferns will go wild but do well if not best, with trimmings of roots and older growth.

travis 12-31-2004 10:12 PM