The Planted Tank Forum

The Planted Tank Forum (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/index.php)
-   DIY (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor (http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=110100)

Craigthor 06-12-2010 10:48 PM

Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor
 
Have to thank our Russian friends for this one. After playing with the Rex Griggs reactor I wanted to try something else. Principal and cost are about the same design is different.

http://translate.google.com/translat...n&hl=&ie=UTF-8

What you will need:

Omni OB1 Series A House Filter
2- 1/2" Male Threaded Adaptors with Barb end
2- 3/4" 90 degree Street fitting
2- 3/4" PVC Male Adaptor
2- 3/4" x 1/2" PVC Bushing
1- 3/4" CPVC Coupling - Note this has to be CPVC not PVC as the PVC fittings are too big
1- 6 3/4" x 3/4" CPVC Pipe - Again has to be CPVC and not PVC
PVC Primer and Cement
CO2 Tubing
Teflon Thread Tape
Scissors
Needle Nose Pliers
Filter Tubing
Drill and Drill bit for your CO2 Tubing

Total cost as ~ $23 each about the same as the Rex Griggs inline reactor if you don't use clear pvc.

Filter Housing:

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120796.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120797.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120798.jpg

Start by removing the Priming Button via the screw on the inside of the lid for the housing:

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120799.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120800.jpg

Drill out the hole to accept your CO2 tubing this hole shpould be smaller then your CO2 Tubing so it creates its' own seal.

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120801.jpg

Cut the CO2 tubing at a sharp angle so you can stick it through and pull it with the needle nose pliers. This should be slightly tough to pull through as it will create a seal as you pull the tubing through.

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120802.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120803.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120804.jpg

Cut the CPVC pipe off at 6 3/4", if you are using a different filter you may have to adjust the cut off length. I cut mine so it was about 3/4" off the bottom. Push the CPVC coupler over the nipple in the lid, should fit really snug. Then push the CPVC pipe into the coupler. I didn't glue this together as it was a snug fit and should be under little pressure.

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120805.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120806.jpg

Lay out and glue the fittings together, with the fitting I chose you won't need any extra 3/4" pipe as all the fittings go together.

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120807.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120808.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120809.jpg

Attach the fittings to each side jsut make sure you hook them up according to the Flow marking on the lid. Finished Product.

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...p/P6120810.jpg

I will update tomorrow once I install these as to how effective they are, but based on looks they should function really well. According to the article I linked to about he got a .5 PH change in a matter of minutes.

Craig

jmowbray 06-13-2010 12:24 AM

Can you tell me where to find clear filter housing?

Craigthor 06-13-2010 12:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmowbray (Post 1087826)
Can you tell me where to find clear filter housing?


I just bought what was at the store, they had a clear filter housing but it was over $30 compared to the solid one I bought for $15

jmowbray 06-13-2010 12:43 AM

Can't wait for the update. I have seen other threads on these and they seem to work real well. aquariumplants.com seem to think so to:https://www.aquariumplants.com/Aquar..._p/ext5000.htm

The only difference is that they use a power head in the bottom to create more movement. They also add a sponge to keep the bubbles in the canister. Even if you went with the clear housing it would still be cheaper than the price they have listed.

shane3fan 06-13-2010 12:52 AM

I have been thinking of something like this--I wonder if a ceramic diffusor attached to the end of the hose inside of the housing would make any difference? Or would that be wasted time and energy--I guess trying it is the only way to know.

Craigthor 06-13-2010 12:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shane3fan (Post 1087851)
I have been thinking of something like this--I wonder if a ceramic diffusor attached to the end of the hose inside of the housing would make any difference? Or would that be wasted time and energy--I guess trying it is the only way to know.

I don't think I would want to have to take it apart that often as the disk would probably need cleaned every so often.

Elohim_Meth 06-13-2010 04:52 AM

Just one warning. If you've got a clear housing, don't tighten the lid too much, it may crack. I've cracked one housing already...

OverStocked 06-13-2010 05:05 AM

I use to use a series of these filters with a mag drive pump to filter a 55g tank. They worked great. Media was cheap. Flow was great. If you look around online you can find them wicked cheap.

nokturnalkid 06-13-2010 05:41 AM

Interesting. Never thought to use one of those things for a reactor. I wonder how flow will be affected, if any, by this reactor. I hate how pvc reactors decrease the flow of the pumps. Please report on how efficient this reactor is. I got one in the shed that I used to use to polish my water.

Craigthor 06-13-2010 05:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nokturnalkid (Post 1088006)
Interesting. Never thought to use one of those things for a reactor. I wonder how flow will be affected, if any, by this reactor. I hate how pvc reactors decrease the flow of the pumps. Please report on how efficient this reactor is. I got one in the shed that I used to use to polish my water.

Having them both installed I don't notice alot of flow reduction, as far as efficency I will watch the tank tomorrow and see what happens.

Craig

nokturnalkid 06-13-2010 09:32 AM

Definately gonna keep my eye on this post. Maybe I'll just give this try anyways. I got a clear housing and it might be a bit easier to see how much co2 is actually being dissolved. I may even try it with a filter module so it can double as a water polisher.

Elohim_Meth 06-13-2010 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nokturnalkid (Post 1088064)
I may even try it with a filter module so it can double as a water polisher.

I tried this but it got dirty in a few days (even being placed on the output of canister filter), and starting to reduce the flow.

Craigthor 06-13-2010 07:48 PM

Day 1 a couple of observations:

Flow seems much higher then when I was running the Rex Inline Reactor. I have Indian Almond Leaves in my tank that used to sit on the bottom now they are all jumbled around, may have to crank my 2217's back a little bit.

CO2 seems to disolve better at the same bubble count as before. My drop checkers which remained nice and green have now taken on more of a yellowish tint to them. I will confirm this later this week as I will replace the fluid in both counters out of a fresh 4 DkH Indicator from Cal Aqua.

Craig

redman88 06-14-2010 02:53 AM

use a drop checker to check your CO2 levels i have one of these style recators and at a high bubble count the CO2 collects at the top.

Craigthor 06-14-2010 02:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redman88 (Post 1088488)
use a drop checker to check your CO2 levels i have one of these style recators and at a high bubble count the CO2 collects at the top.

I've got 2 drop checkers one on each side of the tank.

Craig


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.