The Planted Tank Forum banner

A lonely Tree 4 gallon bowl, now with clown kilies,

17K views 95 replies 25 participants last post by  Chris_Produces 
#1 · (Edited)
Updated. @@@@ new scape pics last page,,,Big thanks to newman for his awesome bowl which inspired me to start my own..

New scape,

Hi guys so i am a newbie here and saw newman planted bowl and i had a bowl lying around so though what the heck i will try something as newman planted bowl.
Tank: Its a bowl 4 gallon:icon_smil
Lighting is ikea table lamp says 7W equals 40 W or something CFl i thing as its spiral.
Substrate is:ADA aqua soil + a mix of gravel , just a tiny bit.
Starting my bowl as a DSM (Dry Start Method).
Plants: Lilaeopsis brasiliensis and i thinks its micro sword plant and also Green Pennywort + One driftwood.
Inhabitants would be just shrimps.

Day 1 . mixed ada soil and then topped up with some gravel. filled up with water and then emptied it to take out excessive nutrients.

Then added Lilaeopsis brasiliensis and sword plant. Also kept my driftwood in the bowl so that i know what space i have and where can i plant.

so pics now will keep updated.

let me know what you think or if my lights are ok or anything that would help me.:icon_smil
Pics:

See less See more
#2 ·
not to burst your bowl here, but that looks like a pretty big bowl, how thick is the glass? I have a 2 gallon that has thin glass, not made to be completely filled and I constantly worry about it busting... yours holds twice as much weight... Be super careful when handling it full; like cleaning the glass and I would never move or turn it even remotely full... I would hate to see that wonderful start end up in pieces...

#4 ·
week 2 update

Its been 10 days, carpet plants are growing at a constant pace, green pennyworth is growing real quick and tall now:icon_bigg. i have changed the driftwood layout, let me know if you like the driftwood layout standing or it looks better before a bit slanting.

driftwood with pennyworth