The Planted Tank Forum banner

75 Gallon Filtration

7K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  roadmaster 
#1 ·
Hello all, looking to set up my 75 gallon as a planted tank. I currently have an Eheim 2215 canister filter, but I was told in another thread that I should get another filter to supplement it. I originally thought I might just get a larger HOB filter for the tank since they're pretty good at aerating water for fish, but I was also told that the surface agitation isn't very good if I plan to use CO2.

I have no experience with CO2 systems and I'm not sure I'm too interested in figuring it all out just yet, so I think I'm going to try the medium lighting/fluorish excel route and see how that goes. If I use fluorish excel as the CO2 source for my tank, will surface agitation even matter?

So, would you all recommend a second canister filter or a large HOB filter as a supplement? I rather love my Eheim, but it seems a little unnecessary to get another 2215. Could I use a smaller canister? I guess my question is, just how much filtration should I have? Can one have too much? The Eheim 2215 is rated for 92 gallons and I understand they may be a bit overrated, but is that still not enough? What all do you recommend for extra filtration?

#3 ·
I kept a low tech tank with Excel for years. I kept crypts, swords, java ferns, anubias, etc. Whenever I added nice stem plants, they would at best stay alive, and at worst wither and die. Still, it was nice, and growth was slow but steady.

A short time ago I added co2 and EI ferts. All I can say, is that there is no comparison. My stem plants are flourishing, and it's a whole new ball game.