The Planted Tank Forum banner

spray bar idea

3K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  jargonchipmunk 
#1 ·
im using 2 canister filters on my 90 and i was wondering since they are on opposite side of the tank can i have a joined spray bar that gets fed from each end. sorta like this

---->>-----------------------<<----

out put canister 1------same spray bar----------output canister 2

to increase the circulation of the tank?

Comments?

G
#3 ·
I have been thinking of the same thing since I now own two eheim 2217's. :proud: I wonder if it would put strain on the motors though or what. Maybe some others can chime in and give thoughts. I wanted to do it this way and run both with co2 inline so there is never a dead spot with co2 as well.

#4 ·
i think i would be kind of like attaching a hose from one faucet to another then putting some holes in the hose and turning both faucets on. only problem i see, not that i am a plumber or anything, is that if the pumps are not matched you might burn the weaker one out quicker. but i could be wrong about that.

G
#5 ·
Yeah that could be true but say for example eheim spray bar not sure on the size of it but say its a foot long. Now at the end of the foot there is a cap so the the pressure would stay in the spray bar and force the water out. Now wouldnt it kinda do the same thing if you just made that tube double the size and forced water from both ends?

Hope I explained that ok and easy for others to understand.

#6 ·
If someone wanted to merge two filters into one long spray bar, I would suggest not merging them, but just butting them up against each other. To use the previous diagrams:

---->>-----------| |-----------<<----

out put canister 1--------spray-bar-1--------| |--------spray-bar-2--------output canister 2

It achieves the same goal originally wanted without any of the drawbacks.