Filter suggestion with limited space - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 02:32 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Filter suggestion with limited space

Hello all,

I am new to plantedtank.net but not new to planted tanks. My question is what filtration system would anyone suggest with limited space. The aquarium I have is 22 gallon Mr.Aqua aquarium that sits on an Ikea dresser. Im hesitant to get a Aquaclear as this will not provide adequate flow in the tank (trying to avoid dead spots in the aquarium. I don't want to have a lot of equipment just laying on the dresser such as the co2 setup and then a canister. I would also like to avoid as much equipment in the tank as well such as a power head. What would anyone suggest? Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 03:45 AM
Algae Grower

Well, if you don't want to go with an Aquaclear, and you don't want anything on the dresser or in the tank........? There are some smaller canister filters that hang on the side of the aquarium but I don't know anything about their flow rates or if they would be any better than an Aquaclear. SunSun does have some inside the tank filters with very impressive flow rates (JP series I believe) but while they are fairly thin, they do take up some square inches on the glass.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

So if I were to get a canister, I'm assuming a eheim 2213 should be sufficient for the aquarium I have?

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 03:46 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morillonj23 View Post
So if I were to get a canister, I'm assuming a eheim 2213 should be sufficient for the aquarium I have?
I would think that it should be but I don't know what kind of flow rate you're looking for that made you decide against an Aquaclear. The 2213 is a great filter and will work well on a 22 gallon.