The Planted Tank Forum banner

Getting CO2 into 120 gallon

12K views 29 replies 10 participants last post by  houseofcards 
#1 ·
I tried adding pressurized CO2 about 4 weeks ago. I tried reading every thread I could find that talked about getting CO2 dissolved in a planted tank so I know I need a reactor because the tank is too big for a diffuser. (It is a 120 gallon) I liked how the Mix Max was pre made and ready to install so I went that route. I tried using a large Mix Max on the return of my Sunsun 304B, which also has an inline heater before the reactor. If you are familiar with the Sunsun you know it uses 3/4" tubing, so I had to reduce the tubing to 5/8" to use the heater. I had been doing this for about 2 years and hadn't noticed any problems. I know it reduced the flow some. Now I had to reduce it again for the Mix Max to 1/2" tubing. All seemed fine, I could get my drop checker yellow no problem if I wanted, (no fish in it yet) Until a few days ago, my Sunsun started acting up. I won't go into detail here, I have written about it in my journal. However I will say I spent all day yesterday trying to shorten the lines and change it around various ways to see if it would help. With the reactor added the Sunsun would shut down within a couple minutes. With just the heater it would run for a while before shutting off.
So now I can't help but wonder if back pressure from too much equipment / too many reductions caused my Sunsun problems. If so I don't want to repeat the problem with a new filter.