Sudden Shrimp Die Off - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-05-2015, 03:28 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I've been keeping shrimp in a DIY co2 five gallon tank for about 6 months now. They've bred once, and I recently added about a dozen guppy fry, around 4 days ago, who were going to go to their new tank later this week. Today, two hours after I fertilized (.5 ml, they've dealt with more accidentally before), I noticed all of my shrimp on their side at the bottom. Immediately took water samples, changed 30% of the water, changed a little more, and tested the samples. Everything normal, pH 6.5, no ammonia or nitrites, minimal nitrates.

I generally keep them at 75 degrees F, but the house got really hot while I was out today and the tank was at 80 for less than three hours while I was out. When I noticed the shrimp, it was back at 75. Was it the temperature change? The fertilizers? The guppy fry? I have them in a different container with some plants and an airstone. I thought they were dead, but did that anyways and am glad because I just checked and they are moving their legs.

Thoughts?

PS My three nerite snails are fine

Just checked again and thought they were goners until one twitched... what should I do?

Last edited by Darkblade48; 12-05-2015 at 08:41 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-05-2015, 07:49 AM
Planted Tank Guru

I highly doubt it was the guppy fry, and it seems unlikely that it was the fertilizer unless that stuff reacts poorly with heat.
Most likely it was the temperature. Just put something in to increase the oxygen, something like an airstone or something to agitate the surface a bit. The low oxygen was most likely the issue.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=679553