The Planted Tank Forum banner

Toni's Shrimp Adventures

11K views 99 replies 16 participants last post by  mosspearl 
#1 · (Edited)
So there are shrimp winging their way to me in the mail from Soothing Shrimp... I've been making the final preparations to their new homes. Can't wait until they get here! Thought I'd get a head start on their introduction by posting pics of their tanks, then when they get here on Tuesday (according to the USPS), I'll take pics of them and post them here.

They'll be moving into two 2.5 gallon tanks. So far the only fauna in them are snails. Here's the one for the five Blue Velvets:

And here's the one for the five Yellows:

I apologize for the photos... I'm just learning how to use the camera on our phone. Already, even though sometimes they're a bit blurry, they're better than our regular camera, which is kind of sad.

Anyway, I'm very grateful to Soothing Shrimp for starting me on shrimping. I'm looking forward to a long, enjoyable hobby with the little critters.

See less See more
#5 ·
The mountain rock is all one piece, Tabberwok... found it in the garden. Did all the appropriate cleaning, boiling, etc. It was a lucky find. :) Makes the layout in the yellow tank a bit pathetic. LOL

The smaller rocks are those decorative stones from Walmart. They do kind of look like mushrooms. I tried to make little caves, Soothing Shrimp.

Chey... yes, I need more moss. I have some subwassertang (a big clump in the yellow tank on top of the rock), a small clump of flame moss in front of the rock in the yellow tank, and a small clump of java in front of the mountain in the BV tank. The moss arrived from a trade I did a few weeks ago, so it hasn't had much time to spread yet. I've also started some subwassertang on the two red lava rocks in the back of the BV tank. In a month or so it should start to fluff out. I'm hoping the shrimp will be happy with the hornwort and the rest of the green stuff in there. :)

#78 ·