Red Cherry Shrimp Exoskeleton Peeling Off - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2016, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
ADW
Algae Grower

Red Cherry Shrimp Exoskeleton Peeling Off

Hey folks,

My name is Alan. I've been reading bits and pieces about shrimp on PlantedTank for some time now and you have helped me a lot in maintaining healthy shrimp tanks. So I'd like to start off by saying thanks!!

I've been keeping red cherry shrimp (Neocaridina) for about three years. Currently I have a problem with a 4ft, 100L tank that houses roughly 600 cherry shrimp. I set this particular tank up about 8 months ago. It was fully cycled before adding any livestock and I started with 50 shrimp.

The params are:

Temp - 24C
PH - 7.5
GH - 7
KH - 3
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 2.5
TDS - 190

Tank Equipment:

I use the liquid API Test Kit for testing.
I have no plants.
1cm depth of gravel (bought from a shrimp-specific shop).
2 large pieces of bog wood.
3 of the double foam filters.
2 Air stones.
An 8 litre canister filter (was new when added to the tank and sponge filters are on the intake pipe).
Lights on for 10 hours per day on a timer.
100% RO/DI water re-mineralised with Salawesi Mineral 7.5.
Tantora Mont Powder.
2 Dried Catappa leaves.
1 Dried Guava Leaf.
I added 3 alder cones about the time the problem started, but have since taken them out.

Feeding:

Shrimp King Complete.
GlasGarten Shrimp Dinner Gran.
Tantora Amaranth Leaves.
GenChem Biozyme.

I feed just one of these per day, on rotation, and they have 1 - 2 days per week with no feeding.

Everything had been going well up until about 3 weeks ago. All shrimp were molting, eating and breeding very well and then suddenly I began to loose a few shrimp every day. All of the dead one's had the famous white crack on their back. Obviously, the first things that came to mind were bacterial infection or GH issue.