New Nutrafin cycle test - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 02:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

New Nutrafin cycle test

Hello all,
I am new to aquariums and new to this forum. A few weeks ago i took my soon to be 3 year old to the pet store and he got a kick out of all the fishies in the aquariums.
after a bit of research I decided to buy a 10 gallon aquarium early and cycle it before his birthday, I told him that on his birthday he gets to pick out a fishy.
I decided to do a fishless cycle using ammonia, i got some driftwood and some plants in there. After 2 weeks of virtually no sign of converting ammonia i decided since there is only 1 week left for his birthday that i should try a different approach. So i bought a bottle of Nutrafin Cycle, Today is day 2 of using this product and here are the results so far. I will keep you updated as time goes on.
By the way i have done some research on this product and i understand there is a chance i may always have to use this product weekly to keep my tank cycled. This is OK by me but i may test this theory as well.

Here are the results so far

2 Weeks of Fishless cycling using only Ammonia
Sunday evening Test water parameters

Ammonia 2-ppm
Nitrite 0-ppm
Nitrate 0-ppm

Add 25ml Dose of Nutrafin Cycle

Monday evening test water parameters

Ammonia 0-ppm
Nitrite 0.3-ppm
Nitrate 5-ppm

Add 10ml Nutrafin Cycle
Add 3ml Ammonia
Test for Ammonia between 2.4 and 3.7-ppm (colour in between chart)

Tuesday evening test water parameters

Ammonia 2.4ppm
Nitrite between 0.3 and 0.8-ppm
Nitrate 10-ppm

Add 10ml Nutrafin Cycle directly to filters Biowheel

Any guesses what tomorrows test results will be? Take a guess, well see whos the closest
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 02:21 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Wednesday evening
Ammonia 1.2ppm
Nitrite 1.6ppm
Nitrate 20ppm

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 4 Beta