Need some help starting out - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-19-2013, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
Need some help starting out

I am very interested in crossing over to the world of planted tanks, but I'd really like some advice before taking the plunge.

I have kept non planted tanks in the past and am pretty well versed in how to take care of fish. I know about the nitrogen cycle, and have cycled tanks many different ways (fishless, with fish, seeding from other media). I know about checking water parameters and general aquarium up keep. However, as far as getting aquatic plants to grow (or anything for that matter), I am a complete novice. If there is one thing I've learned from keeping aquariums, its that being prepared and doing things right the first time is always the way to go...which is what brings me knocking at the door of this fine forum.

I don't think anyone would argue that there is a TON of information to sift through, some of it conflicting, about how best to grow aquatic plants. I have read many beginner articles stickied on this forum
(including and have been following threads for a few days now.

Here is what I've decided so far:

I'm thinking I want to start off just learning to grow a few easy species of plants, though I don't necessarily want to just limit myself to low light. My eventual goal will be a heavily planted tank (40 gallons +) that is nicely aquascaped, but for now I think I will start smaller.

I have a 10 gallon + stand in my basement that I would like to set up + use just for growing plants. I want to really load it up with plants and I am not interested in aquascaping, or fish selections at all. I just want to get really good at growing some basic, tried and true species. I could then later use some of these plants for other aquarium projects.